Pennsylvania & Family


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2016
Edit Blog Post

On our way to Gettysburg we spent two days in Zanesville, Ohio where we had the largest locust that I have ever seen and you could really hear them also. We drove through Wheeling, West Virginia on our way and the GPS took me down a side of a mountain with 40% grade and 15 mile curves which was an adventure with the trailer. Thank God for my exhaust brake. We made it to Gettysburg where we stayed for 10 days at Artillery Ridge Campground which is about a mile from the Battlefield Visitor Center.

We spent most of our time here visiting Bonnie's son Dallas and his family, Kim, Tanner and Alexis. We got to celebrated Alexis' birthday with her and went out to dinner a couple of times. We also took a trip up to Hershey one day and came back with more candy than we needed. Bonnie spent one day making cinnamon rolls and everyone enjoyed those immensely.

I toured the Battlefield one day and enjoyed taking in all the history of the area. I also rented a car and made a day trip to Philadelphia. I should have spent the night as I ran out of time and only saw half of the things I wanted to visit. Guess I will have to go back again some time. I visited the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitor Center, Independence Hall, Congress Hall, Liberty Bell, Betsy Ross House, Christ Church Burial Grounds - Ben Franklin grave, and rode the double decker bus around the city pass many other sites that I did not have time to explore. I had a Philly Steak sandwich at a place on South Street. It was hot and humid so my stamina was limited and I had a 3 hour drive back that night. All the history and old buildings from the 1600's and 1700's were really impressive and interesting to me.

It was time to say goodbye to family and head on up the road to New York.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb