Oregon, USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon
September 12th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Oregon Trip 2008


OregonOregonOregon

Crater Lake, Oregon
My husband Joe and I just went to Oregon for 9 days and we fell in love. Joe is ready to move there. I am ready to visit again.

In short, we arrived in Portland late at night and got up the next morning and headed towards the Oregon coast. Before we did this, I had to drive up into Washington State and have breakfast, just so that I could officially say that I have been to Washington State. We had some breakfast in a little town by the name of Salmon Creek.

We went to Astoria, Oregon and visited the Columbia Maritime Museum. Astoria is where the Columbia River flows into the Pacific Ocean.

We then drove further down the coast and stopped in Cannon Beach for lunch. This was a beautiful town. It was my turn down into Cannon Beach that my breath was taken away and I even had a tear in my eye. This was the first place where I saw the amazing rock formations protruding from the ocean. This was amazing.

We then headed down to Tillamook, which is the home of Tillamook Cheese. We stopped and toured the facility and of course bought some cheese.

We then made it down to Lincoln City for our first night stay. We rented a room at a small hotel with a view overlooking the ocean. The room also had a hot tub on the balcony and the next morning we sat in the hot tub and before we knew there was a completely full rainbow appearing over the ocean. WOW!!

We then headed on down the coast. We stopped at the Yaquina Head Light House, the Devil's punch bowl, Newport, and finally onto Bandon. We ate lunch in Newport. I tried dungeness crab for the first time. It was yummy!! I als saw sea lions for the first time in my life.

We stayed in Bandon for our second night and the next day we actually attempted crabbing ourselves. It was a blast. We spent about 3-4 hours trying to "catch" the crabs. We must have had beginners luck, because we caught two crabs and no one else was, including the couple we met from Nevada, Lyle and Janis, who had been there all day. After we caught our crab we took it up to the local restaurant, Port O'Call and they cooked up our crab for us and we actually got to eat what we caught- which we both thought was cool.

We headed on down to Brookings, the southern most town on the Oregon coast. This town was not as fun as Bandon, but the Bed & Breakfast- Brookings by the Sea- was awesome. We had our own room overlooking the ocean.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb