Joined the Community


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
December 28th 2008
Published: December 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's New Years (well, almost anyway)

and although I was going to wait until January 1st to make my first posting, I got too excited reading all those of people already on their journeys! So here I am! I'd like this blog to be a resource for anyone who's interested in embarking on their first international journey. I'm still several months out from my intended departure date, but this is a crucial time where you set the framework of the journey. I've traveled across the United States several times, and seen almost every nook and cranny I could get to (47 states worth!), but i'm sure that will barely prepare me for what i'm about to get myself into.

As of now, my itinerary is very vague... during my travels I learned that's the best way to go. It's not about being unprepared, it's about allowing yourself the freedom of schedules and "plans" that prevent you from noticing all the subtle signs that gently nudge you along the different paths that life has planned for you. Remember, it's the course you're on, not the destination you have, that's important. As of now, i'm planning on selling my house (hahahahahahahah, yes i know that's a good joke, considering this economy...) and moving into a place in Spain. I figure a couple months there -- perhaps teaching English as a foreign language? -- would be a great way to acclimate myself to my new life traveling abroad. I'd like to see as much of Europe as i can before leaving it behind for my true goal: Asia. I'd like to start on the westernmost part of China and zigzag my way eastward until i reach Japan. Perhaps making stops such as Taiwan, Thailand, India? Suggestions of places to go / people to see, much appreciated!

Well that's it for now...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb