Jaunting down to Portland, OR


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
November 26th 2007
Published: November 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so let's start blogging this world trip. I haven't actually started yet, but the practice will be good.

First, a little background. Back in April, I decided to quit my job and travel around the world. Around the same time, I met a girl, Jennifer, and invited her with me. The basics, in order to go, would be to decide how to finance the trip, do the research and decide the destinations, complete any paperwork (passport applications, visa's, etc.), buy equipment, and decide what to do about my condo. The hardest thing was figuring out what to do about my condo - which took awhile. I finally found some friends to take care of it while I'm away, and they started living there in October. Before that, things turned sour between Jenn and me and we broke up. Everthing else was taken care of except getting the plane tickets, which I was in the process of when my car got broken into (late October) and everything, including my passport got stolen. I had to refile for the passport and buy all my stuff again. Now I'm waiting on the passport.

So, what to do while I'm waiting? I decided to jump around the west coast and 'practice' travelling before I go overseas. I chose Portland to be my first destination - easy and close by. I booked a seat on a Greyhound bus, a weeks worth of lodging in a hostel, packed my bags, dropped my car off at Mike's and made my way down here. Hurray!!! I'm finally doing something.

Here are some lessons that I'm learning quickly:



When I arrived, it was cold and rainy. Even colder than Seattle I think. It took awhile for me to find my bus, but didn't have too much trouble. I got to the hostel around 4pm and got checked in. I've never lived in a dorm went to college, so all this is kind of new to me. Very cheap accomodations ($17/night), community bedrooms and common spaces, and a kitchen, etc. The people here are somewhat quiet. I think it's partially to do with the weather. I caught a cold right before coming down here, so I haven't felt up to being overly social, myself. I like ALL the postings all over the walls in this place too. So many ideas of things to do and places to go. There must be a thousand papers on the walls here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb