Busy road to Eugene. 50 miles /4123 total


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Eugene
August 15th 2018
Published: August 16th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


This morning I started a little later than usual to take advantage of the B&B breakfast. I’m glad I did because it was truly gourmet and I enjoyed every bite.

I finally started my ride after 9am however, and the road was already quite busy from the moment I started.

I had to put up with Highway 126, ( and the drivers had to put up with me as well) on the narrow roads with very little shoulder.

It was quite nerve wracking and I finally was able to turn onto a much quieter road about 20 miles from Eugene.

It was much more relaxing and I’m sure the drivers were happy I wasn’t on their busy road anymore as well.

Finally after a 45 mile day, I arrived in the vicinity of the rented home Denise and my sister Ann had set up.
This is where the real adventure began when I tried to ride a bike path for the last several miles.

Somehow, I wound up on the wrong side of the Willamette River and got about 5 extra bonus miles trying to find the house.

Sometimes things that seem simple on Google Maps become very complex when actually on the ground looking at the maze of bike paths going every which way.

I finally arrived at the house to find my Sister Ann waiting for a hug.

Gosh it was good to see her.

After a quick lunch and catch up, we finally settled into the house for a spell.

Then off we went to have dinner with her past workmate Jeff and girlfriend Zoe.

We had a delightful dinner and conversation and the time flew by.

It’s time for bed now as I will get up and ride 1/2 way to Florence tomorrow, and finish on Friday when everyone can be there.

That will be fun..



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



16th August 2018

Almost there!!!
Yay for Ann being there! No Denise?
16th August 2018

Not yet.
She and Bill are coming in Today. Cousin Janet Tomorrow. I told everyone I would finish Friday so I am stalling.
17th August 2018

Journey's End
Bob, I have enjoyed your travelog from east to west. I'm just glad I wasn't the one on the bike! To say that something like what you've done is a "character builder" would be a gross understatement!!! Enjoy your final day in the saddle and all of those family & friends who will embrace you and what you've accomplished for a very worthy cause. Be well my friend, John
18th August 2018

Thanks
John, Thanks for the kind words. Writing about my day was a good catharsis for me. I am looking forward to setting back into tinkering around the house for awhile now. Take care of yourself my friend.
17th August 2018

Thanks!
Bob--Really gonna miss your daily reports! I (and I'm sure many others) have been living vicariously your epic journey and kinda hate to see it end. Your blog has not only described the landscape well, but the history you've included along the way has been fascinating for me, and your personal thoughts have made it so real and memorable that I feel I was right there with you. Thanks for sharing all this! What an amazing accomplishment! Congratulations!

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb