Day19


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Astoria
October 16th 2009
Published: October 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Having slept in a bed last night I thought I might not wake up early. To my surprise however, I was awake at the usual time and ready to get on my way…except I had to wait for the bike shop to open.
So I ventured outside my motel room and across the street to a really nice wee diner. Again just like the movies. It was the first time I have eaten a "propper" breakfast in America so I was full of anticipation. I went all out and got pancakes, eggs, bacon and maple syrup YUM. I got chatting to the folks there who were really nice people and told them all about my ride and adventures only to find that when I came to pay the bill they had beaten me too it! I have come to realise over the course of this trip so far that every day Americans are really great people. So kind, generous, and genuinely interested in what Im doing. So a big thanks goes out to the guys at breakfast today, it got my day off to the best start possible.
So, all full up I checked out of my motel and ventured across the road to the bike shop and got chatting with Moe, the owner and asked him if I could borrow his workbench and some tools for a half hour to fix my broken bike. As it turned out I bought a new tyre and 3 inner tubes from him too. Im hopefully all stocked up on bike stuff now for the rest of my trip.
By this time it was 12.30 and definitely time to get the legs pumping and some kms under my wheels. The ride today was along the highway again and inland so there wasn much in the way of vistas to look at but I did stop by a beautiful loch for lunch. It totally reminded me of Scottish lochs, crazy.
After setting up camp it was time to discover the massive sand dunes that are just behind the campsite. Ive heard stories about them bud didn expect them to be this tall. They are literaly the size of a 15 - 20 story building and stretch on and on to the horizon and the sea.
My camp tonight is in the middle of a small wood which is great, and the trees are super tall so loads of light gets in still.
Ok its time for todays stats:

Ride time - 3:05:29
Max speed - 58.5km/h
Average speed - 22.8km/h
Distance - 70.69km
Trip distance - 1752.63km

Aly x



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb