Home Sweet Home!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Tulsa
July 23rd 2008
Published: September 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I am American Through and Through!!



After exactly 24 hours of travel time, I was in heaven right in the Tulsa airport when my Little Walking Cooper came to pick up his tired Grandma. How can any tourist attraction top that?

My return began with having to tell my Brother Doug goodbye at 4:00 a.m. That was hard to do because I know I won't see him again for some time. We had a great time as explored new territory together. Because we both love history, our explorations always provoke good conversations. Of course, I'm the one carrying the guide book (and pushing him to the next site) while he carries his "guide book" in his head. Amazing. Next year's trip? He will be surprised.

The flights were LONG and 24 hours is just way too long to go without showering and brushing teeth! Then the airports. The security screening line in Paris had not one person less than 1,000 people it--and that's literal. I went to the guard on two occasions, just to be told to get back in the line. When my connection was to leave in 20 minutes and I still had at least 900 people in front of me, I went to a guard again, only to be told that everyone in the line had a connection to catch and to get back in line. Then 2 American Angels came and got me out of the line and took me to another area where Air France had placed a little sign looking for passengers departing to Tulsa, Salt Lake City, and Detroit. I went with the 2 American Angels but felt sad knowing that there were probably other people just like me in that long line--AND the airport security guards weren't sharing the information. On my flight to Dallas, I sat by a lady who was returning from Spain and had been in that long line in Paris. She said security guards in Paris were on strike so that explained the total nightmare there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb