NATIONAL ROUTE 66 MUSEUM & TULSA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Tulsa
April 2nd 2023
Published: April 2nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

Challenging and exhausting - that’s how I describe my drive after I crossed into Oklahoma. The wind gusts were 50 mph and sometimes so strong that I was struggling to stay in my lane. Once I ended up in the left lane because I couldn’t hold it back. Good thing no one was beside me.

Because I missed it on the way out west, I left early this morning to stop in Elk City, OK to see the National Route 66 museum. Wouldn’t you know it? It’s not open on Sunday. Now that I think about it, I believe it was Sunday when I went through before. Anyway I took some pictures of the grounds, etc. so that will have to satisfy me for now.

At noon we stopped just before Oklahoma City to rest and have some lunch. Malika stretched her legs and had a pee while I laid on the bed for a few minutes after I ate. Then we were off again but after OK City it didn’t seem quite so bad. The land becomes more treed and provides wind breaks. Once I got on the Turner Turnpike which goes to Tulsa it was quite enjoyable. Everything is green again and the small lakes and rivers actually have water in them. Nice to see water again after being in the dry desert for so long.

Purple smears in the green grass matched the lacy redbud trees with their branches filmed in fluorescent purple blooms. Mix in some brilliant lime green of the new tree leaves and it was quite a sight to see. Redbuds are notorious for seeding themselves and they are quite prolific along the fence lines and beyond in fields and yards.

We are staying at Mingo RV Park on the east side of Tulsa which is huge - the park I mean. But unfortunately the sites are quite tiny, no picnic table and no shade. Did I mention the temp is 26 today? Luckily there’s a breeze and I have a good air conditioner if I need it. I guess that’s the price of being a transient and only staying one night. Some of the seasonal spots look much better.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.772s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb