Taos to Oklahoma City, concluded


Advertisement
Published: March 28th 2016
Edit Blog Post

This is just a short entry, to complete comments up through Oklahoma City. And to say that I really appreciate the help I got from a person at TravelBlog when my entry went "Missing." I had frequently saved my former blog as I wrote, but the last time I tapped "save", the whole thing disappeared from my screen and I did not succeed with my attempts to retrieve it. I was so pleased that when I wrote for help, I actually got a response and the problem was even solved. Then I decided to just go ahead and send the blog, though it was incomplete, because I was afraid of losing it again.

I was saying something about how John and I tend to enjoy smaller museums because you can actually see the entire collection. From the museum, we went to Myriad Gardens, a huge city block of gardens smack dab in the middle of the city. We strolled among the tulips and pansies and the few trees that were close to or actually flowering. We sat at a cafe and had root beer floats for the first time in who knows how long. The warm sun was delicious.

When I was young, my favorite music was from Broadway shows. The whole time we have been in Oklahoma, I have been remembering the score from the show Oklahoma. And I have come to totally appreciate the first line of one song: "Oklahoma, where the wind comes sweeping down the plain." Even the people out here have been complaining about the persistent strong wind of the past week or so. The fire danger indicators are at the highest level, extreme, and the signs above highways warn not to drive into smoke. Weather just doesn't get boring anywhere, I guess.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010.1kb