Everything is different from what I'm used to


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » El Reno
May 1st 2011
Published: May 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm back!!! Woke this morning at 5:30am to the sound of a thunder. Compared to last week the lightening was unimpressive. Now it is pouring down so no work today.

Over the last 3 days I have done about 43 hours. When the trucks start rolling you stay in it until the end of the day or whenever we get called in. So I take food and water to last the day.

There are about 20 other kiwis here with me. We range in age from 23 to 71. Mollie is a part of the team She is here with her husband, Roger. They are in their late 60's and she is a great driver.

These people come from all walks of life and have been fantastic as I get used to driving etc.

I tell all the Texans and the Oklahomaites that they have an accent. I get some pretty funny responses but it's a great conversation starter.

I have posted quite a few photos onto facebook if you are connected.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Mission ControlMission Control
Mission Control

Knobs for every emergency and activity
The TruckThe Truck
The Truck

I was really tired a couple of days ago more than 12 hours of driving. Well I had another truck coming towards to me and I was swinging onto a bridge. BOOOM! My back right trailer wheel tackled the bridge!
The Bridge was fime.The Bridge was fime.
The Bridge was fime.

Hit the bridge butt, blew the tyre off the rim & bent the aluminium rim. After that I was wide awake no worries. Only consolation is that 2 other drivers did it before me and they blew both tyres. He He. So yesterday I had 3 wheels on this side of my trailer.
My TrailerMy Trailer
My Trailer

At 10 - 12 meter long there are automatic door that oen and shut with mechanical chains on the deck that drags the silage out all operated from the cab.
The loadThe load
The load

Empty, the truck weighs 37,000lbs (17 tonnes). Fully loaded it all weighs upwards of 60,000 (27 tonnes) with low moisture in the silage and 95,000lbs (43 tonnes). 13 gears and air breaks! Thank goodness for air breaks!!
The TruckThe Truck
The Truck

I was really tired a couple of days ago more than 12 hours of driving. Well I had another truck coming towards to me and I was swinging onto a bridge. BOOOM! My back right trailer wheel tackled the bridge!


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb