A Regular Cincinnati Winter's Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Cincinnati
December 15th 2005
Published: December 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

It is still snowing. I am just hoping that it won't be a problem when i fly out for New York next week.

I gladly made lunch yesterday using fresh Chicken that we got an this amazing International market the other day known as Jungle Jim's. This supermarket has food from all over the world (including Australia). IT is fresh and cheap. They had quite a few varieties of asian vegetables like bok choy and english spinach. I was almost in heaven. They also have about 2 dozen varieties of NAan breads. I bought some Lindt chocolates to give to my hosts in England.

We also went to a liquor store called Party source the other day which make Dan Murphy's look like a corner store. They had two aisles of Australian wines. They had wines from a number of labels like Penfolds, Rosemounts, Banrock Station, Lindemans, McWilliams and more. Since i had also tried some wine from Washington State which is cool climate, kind of like the area around Canberra.

I finally got a ticket to see "Rent" on Broadway though it took me a couple of hours because these automated things do not like my accent at all! When i talked to a real person, he liked my accent and got me a discounted seat courtesy of www.broadwaybox.com for the Orchestra section in the centre. I will quite shamelessly take advantage of my accent for that purpose.

I met with the ladies from the airport in Chicago for lunch today at Larosa's (an Italian restaurant - though definitely American-Italian). Molly, Pat and Carol. Amazing ladies. They took me back to the offices of the government department where they work and introduced me to quite a number fo their work colleagues. Interesting people from quite a few different countries. One of their colleagues Jeff lives quite close to Randy's place and so dropped me off on his way home.

I haven't been feeling that well in the last couple of day - the nights have been a little later than i would like and the mornings a little early.

Ps: Chuck and Karin - My prayers, thoughts and best wishes are with you as you preapre for your wedding this weekend.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb