T-Minus 36 hours


Advertisement
Published: March 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Leg 1


St Jean Pied de Port, FranceSt Jean Pied de Port, FranceSt Jean Pied de Port, France

The initial starting point for the Camino Frances.

You may delay, but time will not.



In typical fashion I have waited until two days before departure to fully commit to creating a travel blog. Forgive my amateur duel with technology, typos, pseudo attempts at Spanish, and the occasional cuss words that will inevitably follow.

I will be using this blog to stay in touch with friends and family as I ramble across Spain along the Camino de Santiago. In total, the Camino Frances, which is the particular route of the Camino I am hiking, will be around 480 miles (that's around 800 kilometers for you fancy Europeans). My feet hurt just typing that number regardless of how it's measured. My sister, Linsey, will be joining me for the first 4-5 days of the hike which is a God-send. Her Spanish will help smooth over my unapologetic gringo nature. After seeing Linsey off then I set my sites on Compostela de Santiago, the end point of the Camino. I hope to be able to update this blog regularly with pictures, videos, and amusing stories from the road.

Below are some sites I have found that provided some interesting information on the Camino de Santiago. If you are unfamiliar with the trail it is worth looking at.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb