Countdown to Italy!


Advertisement
Published: May 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

In the Sky!

Woah this will be a crazy long way from home! Getting to Italy seems like quite a process. I board a plane in Raleigh, transfer in Charlotte, fly to Munich Germany and transfer once more, then finally get to fly to Florence. They'll have me getting up and down, finding seats, making new friends, and hoping things will still be in English. The main part of the flight will last a bit over 8 hours. I bet I could come up with some creative activities to keep myself occupied. I'll have a window seat so I can look at all the awesome views and stare in amazement at the tiny world below me. I have my book, "Idiots Guide to Italian" and another cool guidebook. I will bring cards in case my seat partner is friendly. If everything else gets to be dull and boring I'll people watch and listen into interesting conversations, that never gets old. After 8 hours of probably not much sleep, I'll finally be in Europe for the first time ever!

PlanePlanePlane

my plane will look like this!
00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS

Arrival in Florence

00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS




HERES THE COUNTDOWN TILL ARRIVAL!!!! I will be in Florence, Italy before I know it. My plane lands in Florence on Thursday at around noon I believe. Since the time is all skewed around that means its like 6 am for you guys, UGH thats early! I just need to stay away from a clock that first day and have a mindset that it doesn't matter if I'm 6 hours in the future. That definitely wont be the only thing that I'll find strange. What about the culture!?

I feel like I'm going to have a difficult time fitting in with Italian society. Like a dog, I get excited easily and will probably freak out at every little detail that may seem cool to me. Now I've already heard that Italians use this toilet looking thing called a bidet (sounds like beday), such a strange and interesting concept. I'm going to have to figure out which nozzles to turn and how to properly use these utilities so I don't make a fool of myself. I just hope there is also a toilet paper option!

Aside from the bidet, I'm also hoping to learn a bit of Italian while I'm studying abroad. I'm bringing my book "Idiot's Guidebook to Italian" with me on the plane and maybe that will teach me some of the basics. I certainly want to order food other than pizza and spaghetti in the restaurants! I probably will try a lot of good pizza though, which brings me to my next topic: pisa!! I definitely want to take cool pictures here of holding up the leaning tower like everyone else, but I think I could come up with some more creative poses as well.

One of the main parts of the trip I'm looking forward to is climbing Mt. Vesuvius. This will be so exciting since I've never been to a volcano before. I wonder if they would let me take a rock from the top of the mountain... Other places I will be traveling to is Rome, Venice, Siena, and Isle of Capri. Each weekend our group of 40 students will be traveling to those awesome cities. During the week though, it is Florence all the way! I will be attending the Instituto Lorenzo de Medici and taking 2 classes: one in International Marketing and the other in Renaissance History. I get free museum passes to the Uffizi museum and am also excited about seeing the Duomo.

Well this has been a lot to write about. I will try to keep you guys updated on my adventures every now and then, no clue how much free time I'll have. Right now, I'm pretty much done with packing. I hope I have everything I need and the right sized suitcases and all that. Be back June 25th. Until next time, Ciao!



Advertisement



29th May 2011

Patrick the cocker-spaniel Edwards
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDls_7TmaDY

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb