Geocaching


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Carthage
December 17th 2013
Published: December 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well over a year ago I found a small box by accident in a cave. I had been hiking at the white oaks nature preserve and was just exploring around the bottom of a hill along the river. When I opened the box I found a couple trinkets and a journal with names and short descriptions about other peoples adventures, so I jotted something down about why I loved hiking these particular trails. Turns out, that was my first experience with geocaching.

Months went by before I ran into another hiker who was doing that same thing. Geocaching? Yeah I've heard of it. Didn't really think much of it after that, till this past weekend.

Turns out my wifes coworkers are into it, and they were telling us about finding caches nearby, so I finally decided to take a jab at it. I signed up on geocaching.com and searched around my home and work, I was suprised to see how many there actually are, even ten or more where I found my first one by accident.

On my lunch break today I headed to a Veterans memorial here in town and with the help in the comments section I managed to locate the cache. It was really an exciting experience for me. There's one within walking distance to my house so I might try to find it on a run someday soon. Can't wait.

Advertisement



23rd December 2013

Dreams
From one Marine to another, take your dream by the horns the same way you competed in everything you did in the Marine Corps. Competition is everything no matter what you do and remember that the Leadership Traits and Principles apply to everything you do in life. Best of luck to you and into the new year.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb