Ma parlé français...very little


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
December 7th 2013
Published: December 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hey People,

As you know I visited Washington DC and the Starbucks lady was incredibly surprised when I told her that I had never had pumpkin pie. Oh the shock.

I penned into the diary a pie day, thinking I would at least sample a slice of pie from an actual American diner. The diner was truly authentic with a surly server included. As you know the British tip for service they believe is good (true reason unclear), here you tip as a matter of course.

This server gave me the menu and then immediately asked me what I wanted. He was rubbish to say the least and had asked for his tip a total of three times through the duration of our time in the diner. I sort of rolled my eyes at the situation, but then the lady in the other booth turned around and said, "he is just rudddeee, I would not take that!" We had a conversation about bad service briefly.

I'm interested to know what you think of this. (Interesting article link for your ease of reference) http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2013/11/04/131104fa_fact_smith?intcid=obnetwork

I shot a video for my flatmate to send home, it was really cool I have a director's outfit that I wear which includes a lovely hat that I bought for $20 and sort of wear everywhere, even when not directing short films. It was pretty cold, but we managed eight takes. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and we took some photos afterwards with a full view of the Manhattan skyline.

As some of you may know, Banksy was in NY for a month long residency. I was really following the news on it. Mayor Bloomberg was annoyed by it, but interestingly didn't do anything about it. Money! Money! Money! Anyway, I downloaded a map of the different places he left his mark and spent most of a Saturday finding the artwork in Manhattan and Brooklyn. I walked everywhere, including the Williamsburg Bridge from Manhattan to Brooklyn. My feet were in pain by the end. Having said that it's a cool way to see NY (icon photo is from the Bridge) and the people just plain living their lives. I can't say that I wasn't a little panicked when I ended up in Marcy. But it's all good. Got some great photos, I was also intrigued by the welcome/reception Banksy's work received in poorer areas of NY. Some took it down immediately and sold it, others made more of a show of it including a guy who installed a shop shutter and only opens it at certain times. I also realized it's really hard to have a message in NY, because everyone has some story/agenda.

Through the day I stumbled across a dog show. Owners dress up their dogs in Halloween costumes and some owners join in. The best dressed doggy family, was the sushi dog with hot and soy sauce owners.

I had my first visit; from Shaun!! Was a great week had lots of fun planned. It was cool to show someone around a place that I was struggling to call home. I then came to realise that I actually do know NY well now and it is the place I live and work.

We had great food (see below) and some really cool nights out.

Work asked if I was going trick or treating on Halloween and I couldn't help but roll my eyes at those comments. We went to see MacBeth instead, starring Ethan Hawke and Anne Marie Duff. The theatre was great, there isn't a bad seat in the house. I thought the production was very good, and have come to like the play more as a result.

Then we went to see MIA, which was a really good night. Probably up there with one of the best. The venue, music and people were great. NY crowds are more relaxed and chilled then London crowds. There was a funny moment when we were speaking to someone about how great the gig was, and she asked what we do and were we are from etc. I asked the same questions back, and she quietly said she was a law student. I giggled and said don't worry we live in that world too. Funny how she conveyed her embarrassment, it's really important to be cool here, at least perceived as so.

Then we did some cycling on Saturday morning, which was so beautiful. As you know I love cycling, and I have really missed it. So it was a real treat to go through Central Park, when all the trees were changing colour. Brooklyn in the pm, was cool and laid back as only Brooklyn is. Went to see Jessie Ware. Some guy actually brought flowers to the gig to give to her.

I then had to get up really early to volunteer captain for the NYC marathon, it was very cold and my volunteers were mostly rubbish. However, it was a cool experience and confirms to me that I will never run a marathon! I got a free jacket- which was the only thing I really wanted. I had to deal with some French runners, that could not speak any English and started speaking French really quickly, this led to a few moments of saying I speak little French (which means I do not speak French).

I went to see Rudimental at the Bowery. I met a random Polish guy who loves the NBA and travelled to NY to see a game and thought he would catch Rudimental as well. The band was really good. However, there was a really annoying guy that threw a drink on my leg thinking I would move out of his way. You learn there are arseholes everywhere, so I sort of stepped on his foot. Hehe.

Places to eat:

Red lobster: An all American restaurant, not too shabby a bit little pricy. Good crab though.
Triomphe: French place, very good food, though dessert of crème brulee wasn’t that amazing. Which I thought it ought to be because its French.

Karma Café: Indian; I think this place is better than what I ordered. So I am happy to say I may be the problem. Samosa’s, were very good, nice and crispy.

Stacks: Cool pancake place; though I think it was still very heavy, though they do offer a wide variety of pancake selections. We sat outside as it was sunny, and this place does have a queue every Sunday.

Stone Street Tavern: Was simply ok. Nothing special. Will not be returning.

Cubana Social: Great authentic Cuban food. Service was excellent, Food was excellent and atmosphere too. No surprise this place is in Brooklyn, where all good things originate.

A la Turka: Turkish place, the food was good and portions were generous. The roasted peppers were really well cooked. But there is better Turkish food in London.

Until the next time...

x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb