Its Sunday so....Halleluiah....Praise the Lord!....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
April 22nd 2012
Published: April 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Interesting day! Headed to Midtown for the Harlem and Gospel tour. Organised chaos ...or maybe just chaos. Different tours/buses for different languages, those with or without brunch and no real leadership as far as I could tell. Anyway, eventually found where I needed to be and we headed off to Harlem. Not what I expected to be honest - Harlem has some really beautiful old brownstone buildings and parks. I guess my ignorance was showing. Liked the fact that there was high end buildings and across the road were low income housing. Lots of little common parks too.

What can I say about the church service? When we first entered, it was lay preaching/signing which was interesting. Later the choir came in and the Preacher. It was just like on TV I guess, you know, ummm, enthusiastic, loud, intense, musical and zealous. The congregation had lots of arm raising, high fives, hallelueiahs, amens, clapping etc. The Preacher was determined and passionate. Did I enjoy it? It was good but a bit overwhelming but I did sing along with Amazing Grace.

Off to lunch at the Cotton Club - famous in its day for music legends. Food was okay but because was solo was separated from my group and ended up sharing a table with non-English speaking Germans that barely acknowledged me....Ahhh. Music was good though.

Anyway, good day overall. Weather has turned - very wet but not overly cold.

Cheers.

PS: Hey Alex, managed to open the bottle of wine tonight....ony took me 4 days!! LOL.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb