Bug Bugs Ruin my Vacation!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
May 25th 2010
Published: May 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My family and I recently took our 1st family vacation we’ve had since our 3 kids were born. We saved up for this well deserved break for quite some time, and boy, we were psyched. As mothers and wives do, I planned this vacation down to restroom stops and snack times.

We had never been to the ‘big city’ of New York before, and my kids all agreed that that’s the place for our family vacation and it was going to be perfect, well at least that’s what we thought.

We checked in to a hotel for a week, and spent it sight seeing all over the city, we dinned at fancy upscale restaurants and we even caught a great play on Broadway.

However on the last night of our vacation, we all woke up with bites, but we didn’t think much of and assumed that we had been bitten by mosquitoes.

We arrived home and got back into routine, but something was wrong our few bites had now turned into body suit bites. That’s when our nightmare really started and my worst fears were confirmed.

We had bought back a bed bug infestation and our house was full of these crawling critters. My kids were up all night itching in unbearable discomfort.

I called an exterminator and he advised me on what to do. It was weeks till our house was back to normal, and not to mention the $2000 it cost us that we didn’t have to deal with the bed bug infestation. The stress, anxiety and sleepless nights that my family and I endured were horrific!

I now take all the necessary precautions to avoid another situation like that, all the mattresses, box spring and pillows and covered with these bed bug protectors I found online at an appropriately named site called Bedbug.com.

I even have an anti bed bug laundry bag and you can be sure that if ever we have the money to go on vacation again I will be lining everyone’s suitcase in an anti bed bug luggage liner as well! If you're traveling, trust me - this is something worth avoiding at all costs!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb