Alot Of Words, Not Much Plot Development


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
June 1st 2009
Published: August 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lake ChamplainLake ChamplainLake Champlain

We did not take this photo. In fact, I don't think it's even real.
I apologize to all of our devoted and worried fans for the delay. You are no doubt wondering where we have been, what we've been up to, if we're safe, or at least alive. If you have seen Ian or I recently, then you must be wondering how we got to where we are, and if the other one of us is alive. If you have seen both of us, then you're just wondering how we got here. I won't be assuaging any of your fears. What kind of story teller would just give away the ending? Where's the suspense? What would keep you interested?

The following events, while no Odyssey, in it's own right deserves to be told, as does every action done with the aspiration of reaching something larger than oneself, whether or not said action bears fruit. Ian and I were undoubtedly reaching for something large. Unfortunately, neither of us knew what it was.

We found our way out of Peru and back into New York. We still had a couple weeks before we had to be in Virginia, and we didn't have anywhere to go. I checked the map.

"How about Vermont?" I said.
Cool PhotoCool PhotoCool Photo

I apologize for the high words to picture ratio. I typed "cool photo" as a google image search and this was the first result, so enjoy. We'll put up actual pictures in the future, I promise (maybe).

"What cities are we close to in Vermont?"
"Burlington."
"I hear it's nice there."
"Alright, let's go."
"Alright."
So we headed to Burlington.

We began the long trek east through the massive state of New York, deciding to take the scenic route through a beautiful state park. Ian and I, both suckers for scenery, once again failed to think that state park roads, while beautiful, have lower speed limits, and windier roads (something we should have learned the first day of our trip with our foray through the Shenandoah National Park (which lengthened a typical four hour trip by at least four hours (although it was quite lovely))).

I took this down time to break one of my cardinal rules of the trip: no phones. My uncle Ted had been perhaps the most passionate supporter of this whole undertaking. He couldn't have been happier to hear what my plans were for the summer. I knew I had to call him before I left on the trip, that he deserved it more than perhaps anyone. Well, I didn't. I forgot. And I only realized it half way through the winding roads of whatever state park we were in, over a week past our departure.

Throughout the trip, I was beginning to learn that there were exceptions to every rule (except no hitting girls). I had wanted so desperately to get away from the bonds of my life. I wanted to be independent in every sense of the word. But the truth is, that was an impossible ideal. There are some priorities which supersede principles. Family was one of them, much to my chagrin. (Don't get me wrong, I was looking forward to talking to Ted. I just wasn't happy I had to break rule.)

This inner struggle brings to mind a quote I'm fond of which, although a tad overly dramatic for the occasion, I would like to share:
Rise above principal and do what's right.
- Joseph Heller

Suffice it to say, I called Ted. And I got his answering machine.

He called back half an hour later. We chatted for a bit on where Ian and I had been and where we were going.
(The following conversation is not verbatim, but the essence is there)
"Burlington?" Ted asked.
"Burlington."
"I have a friend in Burlington."
"Really?"
"Yeah, would you be interested in staying with them?"
I turned to Ian, "Would you be interested in staying in a bed tonight?"
Ian's face lit up and he looked at me incredulously.
"Yeah," I said to Ted, "that would be amazing!"
"Alright, let me give them a call to see if it's alright and I'll call you back."

A house! A shower! A flat surface indoors for the night! A warm meal, perhaps! It had been over three days since we were served steak for dinner and bacon, eggs, and toast for breakfast. We were suffering.

Ted called back, but my phone reception in the mountains was unreliable, and he had to leave a message. Knowing how I felt about phones, he said, "Robert. Good news. I think I may have found you a place for the night. But I'm not going to give you the number or address until you call me back."
Touche, Ted.

I called, Ted answered. Etc, etc.
"His name is Bob Brit. He said he and his family would be happy to have you."
"Is he a good guy?" I asked.
"No," Ted said immediately, "he's the best guy."

We called the Brits, who were very welcoming. We let them know what time we expected to be arriving, and that was that. We had a place for the night.

Was it destiny or just happenstance? The fact that I thought to call Ted only hours before reaching a city in which one of his good friends lived, a city that Ian and I only decided to go to because of a whim, because it was there, because of nothing. Was it meant to be, or purely coincidental? Doubtless, this was predestination. We continued on our journey, hopes refreshed, nervous with anticipation.

But we were still a few hours away. We hadn't even crossed into Vermont yet. Therein lied a complication, but only a tiny one, it would seem. For those not familiar with the geography around the New York/Vermont border, it may surprise you that a lake separates the two states. Lake Champlain is a gorgeous lake, yet treacherous enough to keep cars from crossing. We had two options. A bridge joined the two at their northern tip, at least an hour away from Burlington, and a fairy navigated the water right below Burlington. We intersected the highway which ran up and down New York's border, directly in between the two points of entrance. Ian, who had never been on a ferry before, and I, who had never been on a ferry from New York to Vermont before, chose south.

To pass the time, Ian and I went through a menagerie of mind games that started with mental poker, where we both thought of our cards in our heads and whoever had the best hand won (a hard game to bluff in), and ended with "guess the number from 1 to 100." The rules were very simple. One person thinks of a number from 1 to 100, the other tries to guess it. If he's right he wins, if he's wrong, he loses. Then the two people switch roles.

For this game, I beg the reader to grant me an aside:

This game proved more entertaining than you might think. If both people involved are willing to play, then it becomes incredibly engrossing. Admittedly, the game is rather difficult for the guesser. But imagine the satisfaction of winning! Of cracking the mind of your competitor so completely, that you can pick out of his brain any number he chooses, without any hints. And imagine the decision for the one who comes up with the number. Should he choose something completely random every time? The guesser hasn't touched the 40's for awhile, is that a safe zone? Would he dare choose the same number twice? Or a multiple of ten?? Might he have the confidence, or perhaps the audacity, to choose the number 1 ten times in a row? And if he chooses an "easy" number, imagine waiting for the guesser to make up his mind, because, to think of the number and lose the game, such a thing would be humiliating.

One time, I came within six or so, the guess and the real number were both in the 80's, both random. Once I chose the number 9, and waited nervously for Ian to guess. "Nine," he said, and my heart stopped, "-ty." Way off! We played for over an hour, easily. We never guessed correctly.

We were so wrapped up in getting into each others' heads that it took us half an hour to realize we missed the exit for the ferry. We turned around, continued playing, and noticed we missed our exit again by a good twenty minutes. It looked like we had a change of heart, and headed north.

We let the Brits know we were going to be a little later than expected.

Destiny, no doubt.

Advertisement



24th September 2009

Missing Exits
When I picked up your mother (Elizabeth) from the Roanoke Airport (flying in from California) I drove almost to Dublin before I realized I missed the Blacksburg's exit. I was distracted too - and she didn't notice either!

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb