Second bite at the big apple


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
October 3rd 2008
Published: October 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day93- Friday

This is a quick update. More later, but no time to spare. Travel is really a hectic pastime! Tuesday evening I flew to NY after spending the morning at the Getty Centre. Wonderful place. Then taxi to the airport.Arrived after midnight at hotel. This one is really cute. Quite small and friendly. Tiny room but clean and cosy. In 49th between Broadway and 7th Avenue. Chicago , one of the shows I hope to squeeze in is playing across the street. And St Malachy"s, the actors chapel is opposite! It is an amazing location...walk away from Broadway to 9th and there is the really NY...washed clothes in a laundry for 3 dollars...whilst having breakfast with all manner of locals on theri way to work. 49th between 8th and 9th is mainly walk up apartments of the old style. It seems as though I can be in either of two worlds depending on whether I turn left or right outside my hotel,

Next day walked round to get matineee tix for Boeing Boeing. Bradly Whitford has left the cast but it was uproariously funny anyway. Opera that night...Don Giovanni. Great, but the baritone was nothing near Teddy Tahu Rhodes who starred in the Melbourne production last year! It was a warm sunny day so I went down to the BAttery and took the ferry to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island and did a whole lot of walking.

JUst as well as yesterday turned cold and breezy. Decided that I had better get one of those hop on hop off bus tickets or I would never get around even though I have shall been here a total
of 8 days. Hopped off at Macy's and bought a warmer fleece jacket and two long sleeve t shirts. Alighted at Carnigie HAll. The artists they have listed would make you weep! Everyone you ever dreamed of. No-one special these few days but got ticket for Sunday afternoon with the Met Orchestra performance. To drown my sorrows I tottered off round the corner to shout myself a martini at the PLaza Hotel ! I don't know how they can make such a fantastic taste for such a simple drink! I keep trying myself. Nice. But nothing like that one!

Back to hotel for a rest and change. Last night my opera was LA Gioconda. Wow! 6 fantastic principals including Debrah Voight! Wonderful. Didn't finish till midnight. Three long intervals and an 8pm start. People dining at the restaurant in each interval. Maybe they have one course each time? Mad. Then walked back...less than 20 minutes.

Today am doing the northern loop of Manhattan.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb