New York, New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
March 30th 2007
Published: March 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0



Untitled
Lisa Rae
Well guys I have finally done it, here I am in New York City!! After staying up all night and being accompanied to the airport by Megan and Jen (thank you girls!! I am still upset that the airport bar wasn't open for pints at 5am) I arrived in New York in one piece. Temporarily lost my luggage but got it now thank god!

So I'm camping on Kimmy's floor in her cool wee pad in New Jersey just over the river from Manhatten. I'm having such a great time, new York is awesome, just like the movies but bigger and better. It's quite hot during the day too, hopefully won't take to long to lose my white glow. Kim has been working during the week so I have been exploring on my own then meeting up at night time. I am quite proud of myself for not having got too lost yet, the subway here is so confusing, not quite the glasgow orange circle I tell ya!!

Right so what have I done....Well I spent ages wandering around Central Park which is massive! Went to Strawberry Fields to see the Imagine memorial to John Lennon and then walked down through all the posh Avenues to do some (window only) shopping. Made my way to the Theatre district and Times Square which is pretty cool. It is here I stumbled across one of New York's lesser known marvels.... M&M World! I have never seen anything like it in my life, this shop was probably bigger than Debenhams and it sold ...well M&Ms...3 whole floors of them. I ate lots and felt very unwell indeed! It also sold lots of pointless M&M crap like M&M dog jackets. Only in America!! Talking of dogs everyone, i mean EVERYONE has a ridiculously small, slightly deformed looking rodent dog here! Paris Hilton must be quite the trend setter. . .

Yesterday I went to Ground Zero and the Statue of Liberty on the Staten Island ferry. Ground Zero is still a huge construction site and it's all closed off but there are photos all round the outside of it and boards with all the names of the people who died. I didn't think I would really get emotional but the sense of sadness you feel there is quite overwhelming. Yet there were some people standing grinning getting there pictures taken in
Imagine Memorial Imagine Memorial Imagine Memorial

In Strawberry Fields, Central Park
front of it which was a bit weird, then this nutcase came along and started ranting and raving about conspiracy theories so I left. Walked down to get the ferry to Staten Island and came across these guys doing an amazing breakdancing show in the park, check out the pic! The Statue of Liberty is much much smaller than you'd think and generally not that interesting (is that bad?) but it was nice to see it. Went to meet Kim and we ate Sushi in Union Square gardens then went to a Rudy's bar in Hells kitchen - $3.00 a pint & free hotdogs. We made a lovely friend there in the form of an old man who was telling us he wore a cap so the FBI wouldn't find his skank...eh, ok then. Although we were sad to leave him, we went to catch a proper Broadway production of RENT, it was fab!

So that's it so far, I must apologise for the lack of drunken tales, this is mainly because I haven't been drunk yet! Do not fret though tonight is the night! Kim and I are going to Chinatown and Little Italy and meeting some of
Somersault!Somersault!Somersault!

Check him out!
her friends so I'm sure the antics will get started! I have not stopped eating, really have not stopped, I will not be fitting into any swimwear garments in Fiji at this rate! He He!

Right folks, until next time! Leave comments as u wish or email me on lisa_rae1984@yahoo.co.uk
Lots of Love, Lisa xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Manhatten SkylineManhatten Skyline
Manhatten Skyline

View from Kim's place
Central Park LakeCentral Park Lake
Central Park Lake

I'm gonna make Kim hire a boat at the weekend!
TortoiseTortoise
Tortoise

This wee guy was just chilling in the park.
Alice in WonderlandAlice in Wonderland
Alice in Wonderland

Statue in Central Park
M&M ElvisM&M Elvis
M&M Elvis

He's all shook up
M&M WorldM&M World
M&M World

This was only one colour assortment of many. Yum!
Mr PeanutMr Peanut
Mr Peanut

This photo is especially for Caz, you love him don't ya?
Family Guy in Times Square!Family Guy in Times Square!
Family Guy in Times Square!

Also for Caz! Remember the good old days of family guy on the couch?
KimmyKimmy
Kimmy

Cool restaurant in Hell's Kitchen


30th March 2007

hi honey bunch
looks like you are having a great time. i want to go to the M and m shop NOW!! Are you sending your bloggs to Gran, Stephen and Alex - will send u their email addresses if you need them. Keep posting the photos - they are brilliant. Love Mum xxxx
31st March 2007

Hi Lisa
Thanks for the photos but I still think your feet are very smelly. You will like Boston too. See you soon. James x
31st March 2007

NY news
Plenty to see and do in NYC, eh?. We only saw JFK and La Guardia airports. Alison and her mad friend Viv have shopping trip planned for you and Bex around Boston on Tuesday. Everyone looking forward to seeing you. Love Dad xxx
1st April 2007

paris hilton is a twat
you gotta slap at least one person you see with one those "dogs" stickin out their handbag! yell "treat an animal like a fashion accessory will you?!" Then give 'em a slap and run! lol. They're not even real dogs!! your pictures are awesome babe. glad you're having fun. look after your wee self. miss you. XjenX
2nd April 2007

Wow!
How amazing is the view from your friend's apartment?? You lucky girl! Remember - take care of yourself! I'm a little nervous at the thought of wee Lee wandering around New York on her own! Love you lots xxx
2nd April 2007

Fabtastic New York
Omg cant believe your actualy there sounds like your having the fabbest time ever.Central park does look absolutely massive!As trina said youir friends aptment has a beautiful view your so lucky! Your photos are awesome as you wud now say.Keep taking lots more.Take care walkin those streets alone!Lots of love to to ya wee le li lou!xxxxx
14th April 2007

jealous
i am uber jealous. look forward to haring more of your travels. M x

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb