5th week in the Finger Lakes


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
July 9th 2022
Published: August 7th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Sunday: How many state parks and how many gorges with waterfalls are really in this area? Because at this point it seems infinite. This time to Filmore Glen state park which is at the southern tip of a different finger lake- owasco lake. Still only about 30 minutes away. I was really surprised given that it was almost 80 degrees, and it was sunday afternoon of a holiday weekend that there weren't more people out at this state park (many others have been busy). It even has an ideal designated swimming hole with a life guard on duty but there was only 1 family there! Seems to be a park that is just less common and is further away from Ithaca or other larger cities. Of course at this point I can predict the trail names- there's the gorge trail and the rim trail. Unfortunately the way the rocks and such fall you can never get a good view of the large waterfall in the gorge. It's always behind some trees and you just can't hike to it. Still yet another amazing state park for the region.

Monday: Today was july 4th but given what's happening in the country I was not feeling very patriotic. The evening of course came with fireworks with doggo is not a fan of- see him with his "thunder ears" to help. Luckily there was just 1 large professional show that lasted about 15 minutes. There weren't very many individual fireworks going off at all hours.

Wednesday: After work swim hike at 6 mile creek again. I hiked here a few weeks back and saw that it was a perfect creek for swimming. The weather was nasty humid and not too warm but still uncomfortable. It was still warm and very humid even at 7pm. Copper is 100% not a water dog though- look at him protesting being in the water. Where we were the water never got more than 3 feet deep and most was lower than my knee where he could stand. I'm definitely theorizing that he had some water trama before I got him because he absolutely hates it and worries about me even if I get in the water. He's gotten used to the fact that I take regular showers at home, but even then he looks concerned for meon why I'm doing it. He was definitely good entertainment watching him running along the bank of the creek though.

Friday: Here's the thing I don't like about staying in more "spacious" places. I spread my stuff out more and it doesn't force me to stay tidy. So packing everything up takes longer! As much as I dislike keeping my clothes in suitcases and love having a dresser and full closet. It sure is easier to pack up and leave when all my clothes are still in the suitcase. It also really is that I have more stuff too. This was the first airbnb that I was able to get regular packages delivered so some online shopping happened. Oops! Oh well, everything still fits in the car... barely 😊 But seriously, it's nice staying in a small space because you stay nice and tidy. It forces you to do the mentality of "don't put it down, put it away." I also secretly like it when the airbnb only has a couple bowls and plates- the dishes never pile up because I have to wash them!

Saturday: Travel onto the next destination! It really does take all day to pack, do the driving, unpack, buy new groceries and get settled. Goodbye saturday, but hello new adventures 😊 Pictured is Copper sitting on both of his beds. He hates not having a bed in the bedroom and in the living room (or really just wherever I am) so this month I gave in and got him a second bed. Condition is he has to sit on them in the car. Made it kinda cozy but also not very structured- the double bed kinda sunk in too much with his weight. He didn't seem to mind.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb