Adams Center to Star Lake


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
August 10th 2018
Published: August 11th 2018
Edit Blog Post

My favorite day so far - clear clear blue, not a cloud in the sky and 74-76 degrees, after an unexpected thunderstorm last night. In fact, sirens went off over and over and I really thought it might be a tornado warning. But I was too tired to even evacuate for a tornado. Since no one came and dragged me out of my tent, I figured I’d just ride out the thunderstorm - a little flash lightening but no bolts around us. As we rode in the morning chill, the landscape changed from relatively flat farmland to hillier and more forested terrain. We rode early on the Black River trail, a paved trail by the river - very nice but much too short. After lunch, we headed into Star Lake in the foothills of the Adirondacks, crossing the Oswegatchie River several times. Two challenging climbs Completed our 70 mile day and we were at our destination, Star Lake High School with plenty of dry green grass to set up our tents. Another delicious dinner, a walk down to the lake and ready to sleep well in the predicted 52 degree low.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb