Three Weeks Until Departure


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Westchester
September 4th 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I am counting down the days until my departure and getting ready for my second great trip in the past year and a half. Given my candidacy for a “legitimate job,” I should probably say this is my last great trip for a while. But with a bad economy, good health, and an amazing summer job, why not continue to leverage my two greatest assets: disposable income and time.

My buddy Lee and I have tried to design a trip with a very loose itinerary, not necessarily planning any stops, simply check points. We know we are flying into Cancun, Mexico on September 22nd, and need to make it to Panama City, Panama by October 2nd for a flight into Lima, Peru. In Central America we want to see a few Mayan Ruins, and also have plans to house sit in Mal Pais, Costa Rica for a few days. Once we are in South America, we have only three definite points of interest: Machu Picchu, Patagonia, and Tierra del Fuego. What is great is that both of us are relatively apathetic to the details of the trip. Planning out every detail and destination would limit the spontaneity of our travels.

As for preparation I think all is going well. I have a small list of items I am packing, all of our tickets are booked, and by departure I should have about $3500 saved up for the trip. This may be far too little or far too much, and I am pretty anxious to figure out which one it is. In addition to South America’s cheap accommodations, we have friends from Heavenly Ski Resort in Peru, Chile, Argentina, and Brazil (still trying to get a hold of this one). With places to stay I should stay far under budget. Unfortunately I am convinced that Parkinson’s Law is universal and will inevitably apply to my budgeting.

I hope this works as a good introduction to my travel blog and I will do my best to keep it updated while I’m below the equator!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb