24 hours in New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
May 25th 2007
Published: May 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Kylie Party!Kylie Party!Kylie Party!

Nico getting mauled by fans to sign his book "The Straight Road to Kylie"
Just as I had anticipated, my 24 hours in New York were rather rushed and chaotic.
I arrived Penn Station at around 9:45 pm and took the subway to Union Square. Nico's Book Release Party was at Spincycle at 35 E 13th St. So, I walked up to the door with luggage in tow and the doorman/host asks "Are you one of the Go-Go Dancers?". No... I felt a mixture of insulted and flattered. I hauled my bags up the stairs only to find there was no where to leave them, but then the shining light that was the coat check opened. It seemed almost instantaneous that fans of
Nico's book were approaching him to get it signed. I felt like a proud parent! Then the magic that was the all-Kylie Minogue Dancefloor began. I shook my bum to "Slow", "Spinning Around", and " Step Back in Time", for the first time since Nico and I "threw caution and good financial judgment to the wind and flew across the Atlantic to see Ms. Minogue in concert." (See Nico's Acknowledgments) Mindy met up with me at some point and the rest of the night was pretty much an inebriated blur. We
Kylie Party!Kylie Party!Kylie Party!

I swear we're just happy..
called it a night relatively early and Mindy and I made our way back to her apartment in Brooklyn.

I woke up feeling less than refreshed, but at least with two cute cats cuddling with me. We both got up and took our respective showers and ventured out for food and shopping. After many trips to New York, it was my first chance to get to really see Brooklyn and I actually really liked it. Mindy lives only one stop (Bedford Ave) in from Manhattan (i'd say it trumps Rosslyn, Va). We randomly ran into a guy on the street that we knew from Gainesville, Fl, so he joined us for lunch. Mindy and I went into the city to do a little shopping in Soho. We both bought a few things and headed back to Brooklyn. We said our goodbyes and I trekked out to JFK. I had to say JFK has to be the cheapest airport to get to via public transit, $2 Subway and $5 Airtrain, it definitely beats the $45 cab ride. I'm now sitting in JFK airport waiting to board my flight to London. I'm feeling rather exhausted, which I hope means I will
Mindy on her stepsMindy on her stepsMindy on her steps

Mindy on the fronts steps of her new apartment in Brooklyn
have no problem sleeping on the plane. My next post should be from Paris, where I will be in less than 24 hours!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

EstherEsther
Esther

Mindy's cat Esther wanting someone to rub her tummy.


30th May 2007

yay!
I wish we'd gotten to dance more. I can't thank you enough for including NYC on your super-detailed itinerary. !!! It was too much fun. P.S.--You can't shake your dick at the Bedford stop without hitting some ex-hipster from Gainesville. Seriously. Why do you think I live in Washington Heights? :-) Haha. (No offense to Mindy, who I love!)

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb