Coming Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
January 31st 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Radio CityRadio CityRadio City

The dazzling Radio City music hall as the sun was going down
Well, that's what it feels like. 'Home' was the first word on my lips as my taxi cruised over Ocean Parkway and I saw the Manhattan skyline. Home. I haven't been here since 2002 but NYC has been in my dreams at night, albeit twisted and re-arranged, ever since. She's haunted and called me all my life (ever before I met her) and I can say I feel my happiest when I'm here. Reuinted and returned.

I'm staying in a beautiful landmark house in Brooklyn Heights - a delicate brownstone with high ceilings. I have my own little studio flat in the basement, complete with white iron bedstead and a real Carrie Bradshaw style bathroom. I'm staying with Diana and John - relations of a friend. I didn't know them 'til yesterday, but they have welcomed me with such warmth. Diana is as gorgeous and little as Barbara Windsor and I already feel very comfortable with her. This place is so full of interesting people!

Jetlag was giving me weird deja vu about objects last night, but I think I'm getting used to the time difference today. I'm just exhausted from sightseeing!

I walked across and photographed every
NYC Skyscrapers NYC Skyscrapers NYC Skyscrapers

As seen through ceiling at Rockerfeller Center
inch of the Brooklyn Bridge today - it was gloriously sunny and I met up with various girl clickers on the way. I've had quite a lot of hassle with dirt in the camera which won't yield to blower brushes - my blue skies will be gritty, but hey, at least I'm learning. I took up photography so I could stop being perfectionist about one thing in my life!!!

The bridge itself is incredible - a pale silver web flying out in triangles. It was also SOOO icy!! A tourist took a picture of me trying to repair my make up - so I must look the part already!

After that, I made my way through the Financial District - discovering the lovely Woolworth Building (I adore skyscrapers!) and then paid my respects at the site of the WTC. I was completely shaken by the one stairwell left standing - the one thing in that huge absence. I went over to the World Financial Center and looked at the site from there. Workers on their lunch hour were standing in silence staring out at it - probably thinking of workers much like themselves who lost their lives. It's
Diana & JohnDiana & JohnDiana & John

My wonderful hosts standing on the steps of their house in Brooklyn Heights
hard to take in the extent of that loss or how history changed so irrevocably at that place - taking us down the dreadful road of war we're still walking today. Later in the day, I saw the remains of a sculpture from the WTC plaza - called the Sphere, it now resembles a punctured skull. A symbol for everything, I think...

On a cheerier note, after lunch I took the ferry over to the Statue of Liberty this afternoon. I'd seen her before, but never up close and personal. She is delightful - the turquoise fols of her robe and thick set hands aren't ever done any justice by pictures.

This evening I fruitlessly tried to find the Flatiron building, but wandered into a wonderful diner instead. I'm eating so much - bring me my academic gown!

I'll sign off now as I need my beauty sleep - boy, I look rough! - but all I can say is that today I had moments of absolute euphoria. The peace which comes from knowing you have achieved a long-held dream. I am really Lady Liberty - unlike the statue, I can move as I please. Although I'd
Lady LibertyLady LibertyLady Liberty

The beautiful Statue of Liberty
stay here forever if I could. I honestly would. Home. As I said before, I'm home.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Lady Liberty's MaskLady Liberty's Mask
Lady Liberty's Mask

The huge mould for the Statue of Liberty's face
Central Park Central Park
Central Park

The ice and snow-covered boating lake
Central ParkCentral Park
Central Park

There's nothing like this place in winter
Central ParkCentral Park
Central Park

I wanted snow - but this was lovely enough
Tiffany FountainTiffany Fountain
Tiffany Fountain

No, not a Bond girl ... but the real deal(from the Metropolitan Museum)
Me at the MetMe at the Met
Me at the Met

Me looking shifty next to a nude man ...
Brooklyn HeightsBrooklyn Heights
Brooklyn Heights

Diana & John's house
ChelseaChelsea
Chelsea

Apartment blocks in the lovely winter light
Lady's RobesLady's Robes
Lady's Robes

The depth of detail in the statue is astonishing


31st January 2007

Perfectionism is overrated
Hey Sharon. Repairing make-up on the icy bridge in a state of euphoria while fighting the objective jet lag. It sounds sublime. Keep it coming. Jenny x

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb