From Aloha to Goodbye


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Queens
December 25th 2011
Published: December 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's been a while since the last post...

In the meantime, I had to say goodbye to Mimi, one of my flat mates for the past six months. Not too long and it'll be bye bye to Ni, my other flat mate. It sucks to see these two ladies go back to Switzerland because over the period of the last half year, they've grown very dear to me. But that's how the program works, other people should get the same opportunity to dive into New York City Life like we can or could. Thanks ladies for an unbelievably cool and sexy 6 months! :-)

Needless to say, we had several goodbye parties for the girls, Mimi's last one turned out to be at the legendary Surfbar in Brooklyn. Being a favourite for NY interns for quite a while, this bar offers definitely more than meets the eye. Located in the middle of the alternative and hip Willy-B, the Surfbar has been the host of many fantastic nights here so far. Not did I only take home great memories, but also buckloads of sand. The whole floor is covered with it. Summer sound seems to be on an infinite loop, the mojitos come very well mixed and the (mostly sea) food is very hearty. Why escape to the Bahamas when you can have summer all year round at this hidden gem.

My love for New York City has strengthened again just days before Christmas after it was put to a test by all the christmas shoppers throughout December. The four block walk from my office to the subway station along Fifth Avenue felt like walking through quicksand. Try running?! Ain't gonna work. After half a year here, my walking pace has probably doubled so for two and a half weeks, my patience was tested to the absolute upper max. The day of the christmas tree lighting at the Rockefeller Center, the entire area around the tree (which includes the ST office) was just blocked. And all that fuss just because of Michael Bublé and Justin Bieber...I don't guys, seriously?? The tree - I have to say - is unique in its usual american way: It is bigger, brighter and more pretentious than any other christmas tree in the world. The last few days before Christmas, the masses seemed to slowly disappear again. Fifth Avenue and I could finally breathe again. Soon, the New Yorkers will take back their New York.

it's so hard to realize that half my time in NYC is already gone. In hindsight, I've never experienced so much in such a short period of time, never walked this much and never ate that many burgers ever before in my life. Instead of counting down the days before I have to leave, I'm going to enjoy my remaining 180 days in the greatest city of the world. Who needs a christmas present when the biggest present of them all is available 24/7, mere steps (and a 50min subway ride!!) from my apartment!! New York City, I love you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb