Bienvenido a mi blog


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Queens
January 28th 2009
Published: January 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Dear Friends, Family, Casual acquaintances, and Strangers who might be reading this,

In 5 days I am taking a 13-hour flight to Buenos Aires, Argentina by myself. I'll be there for three months doing volunteer work with LIFE Argentina, an organization that works with children in socially marginalized and impoverished areas of Buenos Aires. I've never traveled alone before. I've never been to South America before. I've never been out of the country for more than two weeks at a time, and I've certainly never worked in a Spanish-speaking country before. It's a lot of firsts for me, but I'm feeling beyond ready for this experience and I can't wait to completely immerse myself in something totally different from everything I am used to. I have a lot of goals for the trip, and I thought I would write some of them out here so I can keep track of them while I'm there and take suggestions on other things I should do from all of you lovely people.

1. Become (as near as possible) fluent in Spanish
2. Learn the Tango
3. Take a ferry to Uruguay
4. See IguazĂș Falls
5. Go to Patagonia
6. Take a trip to Rio (maybe with my parents!)
7. Eat tons of dulce de leche
8. Develop a taste for yerba mate
9. See Eva Peron's grave
10.Learn the history of the city
11.See local art, music, theater and crafts
12.Read 5 books (including one in Spanish)
13.Feel valuable/make a difference/create change
14.Steak and wine 😊
15.Enjoy life.

If you've been to Argentina and know of something that I absolutely HAVE to do or see while I'm there, let me know! I hope to update this blog a few times a week, or once a week at the least if I'm traveling.

Next entry from Buenos Aires!

Advertisement



28th January 2009

How exciting!
I love this travelblog. It's such a wonderful idea. The addition of seeing your goals for the trip makes me feel like I'm seeing your journey through your eyes and your soul. ... I also eases the anxiety of having you so far away for the first time! :) Start the world on fire, Sarah!! You will make a difference, create change and be valued. You already are doing those things and hopefully this experience will give you the gift of knowing it in your heart.
1st February 2009

dear sarah
I hope you you get to live out according to the list and MORE. My cousins in GA just came back from Bogota. They are part of the AG Church group that went down to help make lives better. I am sure you will tons of fun ... personally 2, 3, 6, 10, 11 and 14 sounds like something I'd like to do if I ever go to South America. Looking forward to reading about your experiences.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb