Day 1 in New York City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
August 28th 2014
Published: August 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Thanks for checking out my travel blog! I'll be updating it periodically as I complete my Richter grant research project in New York City and London, and my study abroad experience in Glasgow, Scotland!

After an early morning to make it to Midway airport on time, I arrived in New York City to a bustling metropolis that featured greater traffic than usual (the cab driver noted). After a stop and go cab ride, I arrived at the building I'm staying in on the 25th floor. The room is complete with a balcony and a view of the new One World Trade Center building. The area is very nice, and there is a Metra station right across the street.

Anxious to start exploring the city, I took the Metra into Times Square where I found a place to eat lunch before walking around. I was amazed by the tremendous size of everything: the LED billboards that are multiple stories high, the numerous stores that seem to go on forever and even the multiple huge walls filled with jeans in the American Eagle. It was also exciting to see many of the theaters that were advertising the shows inside, as well as the Radio City Music Hall. There was just so much squeezed into such a small space and it was very cool to be in this part of town.

Later that afternoon, I saw the first show on my list: The Fantasticks at the Snapple Theatre. It was very intimate venue, and the small cast was very close to the audience throughout. After getting dinner, I saw the next show: The Book of Mormon, which was at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre. This theatre was also smaller than I had anticipated; I was surprised that there was no lobby, we just walked right into the house. I was pleased to see that my seats, which were in the fourth row of the mezzanine, were much closer than I had thought they would be and I was really able to see everything very well. I could even see many of their facial expressions which are sometimes lost sitting in the balcony. The show was absolutely stunning, and it appeared as though every detail was considered. The result was a clean, polished show that was easily one of the best pieces of musical theatre I've ever seen. It was also very cool coming out of the theatre after dark to what appeared as broad daylight due to all of the lights from Times Square.

All in all, it was a great first day in the city and I continue to look forward to the other adventures I will have in the city and the other shows that I get to see!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

ChicagoChicago
Chicago

(I didn't actually see Chicago, but I still wanted a picture in front of that sign)


29th August 2014

Jelly!!
Okay, you got to do two things I have yet to do: 1. Go to New York, 2. See, "The Book of Mormon". Safe travels, JackJack!
30th August 2014

Love from mom and dad
Hi honey. It looks like you are having a wonderful time in New York! What an opportunity of a life time. We are so happy to have this blog to hear about all of your wonderful adventures! Always know how much we love you Mom and Dad

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb