Next to last day in New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
August 1st 2006
Published: August 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am here in New York preparing to leave for Norway, my mother and I flew here a couple days before I had to leave for Norway and are staying with a guy I met last summer Eric Johanson and his boyfreind Danny.
It has been really quite warm here this week getting into the nineties every day, it is also really humid which makes the heat seem a good deal hotter. But Im not complaining. New York is pretty sweet, but there is no nature, central park is really pretty but quite tame and planned, there are no mountains or wild places, so while I am having an awesome time, I think that living here for more than a year would make me sick of the city.
In the last couple of days we have gone over much of Manhattan. First we went to Greenwich Village for dinner on our first night, it was really tasty, we saw where Sex and the City is filmed (some of it). The next day we went to the Museum of Natural History and the MET both were cool, I loved the dinosaurs at the A M of N H and it was neat
DinoDinoDino

Saur
to see so many paintings that you always see in books in real life (met). At night we went to the top of Rockefeller center and wandered Times Square. Yesterday we went back to the M of NH and saw the special exibits (Darwin, a Caves IMAX, and a Planetarium on Collisions of things in the sky) then we went down to Times Square and ate some lunch and I got one of those cartoons of me drawn.
Today we went to Chinatown, SoHo and Little Italy. SoHo had some really really cool t shirts but they were like 30 bucks, Little Italy had really tasty food, and Chinatown was really cheap I had a grand time bargaining and getting wisked into secret rooms hidden behind layers of clothes and a locked door that looked like the wall to bargain for illegal fakes. I got a couple awesome belt buckles as well.
Tomorrow we have tickets for the Producers on Broadway and then wednesday morning I start the AFS program.
Thinking of you all
Drew

Advertisement



7th August 2006

Beautiful weather in Anchorage
Hi Drew, I finally found your travel blog. Michelle had been looking for it as well. When she went to facebook and clicked on the link, she couldn't get there. I realized after looking at facebook myself that you had given the link a .com instead of a .org. You might want to change that. Anyway, I navigated back to Newark in record time, paying the extra $5 to ride the Long Island Railroad. It's good to be back in Anchorage after that NY heatwave. We are having full sunshine and 70 something degrees. I am wondering what the weather might be like over in Norway and how your flights were. Keep us updated. We're anxious to hear the news and see pictures. Dad is in Michigan and will travel to the Fountain Hill farm for the weekend. Wiley is going to the summer-get-together tonight. I hope the fabulous weather holds. We love you.
7th August 2006

beautiful weather in Anchorage
Hi Drew. I finally found your site. The link from facebook has a .com rather than a .org. You might want to change that. Michelle had tried to locate you without success from the link. I made it back to Newark in record time on the Long Island Railroad. I am really glad to be back home with 70 degrees and sunshine, especially after that east coast heat wave. Dad is in Michigan and will visit Fountain Hill over the weekend. Wiley is headed to Palmer tonight but running with the x-c team this morning. Coach Joe is taking over the team and Coach Kimball is sitting out the season because they have a new baby. We're anxious to hear details about your travel and first impressions of Norway. Keep us posted. We love you.
19th August 2006

The city is the place to be! I haven't been to New York for at least 10 years but that sounds like what I did in London: wander around and go to museums. But if you want some heavy-duty haggling, go to some eastern European markets. Glad you are doing good.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb