New York, New York!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
July 8th 2006
Published: July 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Two @ Times SquareTwo @ Times SquareTwo @ Times Square

Hello world!
Hi gang!

Sorry I didn't update my blog earlier, I've been sleeping late because we start late in the day because Candy sleeps in because she's still sick. Whew!

I'll try to think of everything I've done/been to so far and elaborate on them later - and on the bright side, I have New York photos because I transferred 800+ photos from our camera this morning =)

Here we go:

- 4th of July fireworks (I'm happy to report our Symphony of Fire is just as good)

- Shopping at the Woodbury factory outlets - they have designer stuff there!!! Gucci, Dior, Chanel, Saks 5th Avenue, Fendi, etc. at fantastic prices! The best deal I got there were two pairs of Gucci sunglasses for $69 each, retail is $300+ here in Vancouver! I also picked up a Lacoste shirt, two Kate Spade bags (buy one get one half price since it's 4th of July), a Coach leather wallet, and... I've lost track now :D And I did look at my credit card accounts... OUCH! >.<

- Gray Line double decker tourist bus YEAH! We did the downtown loop and the night bus which shows the
Times Square!Times Square!Times Square!

Need I say more?
sights of Manhattan, and sat on the top deck for the most part. We decided to do this tour because we weren't familiar with the city and the tour guides were great because they recommended...

- Restaurant Row on 46th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues, for pre and post theatre meals - we found this fantastic French restaurant with a late night set menu for $22 with huge portions and delicious food

- Rockefeller Center and the Top of the Rock observation deck, decided to take a pass on the Empire State Building since it's super-touristy. We went at sunset and saw the city during light and dark

- Greenwich Village, including the building where Friends used to be filmed, ate at a Belgian bistro, Magnolia Cafe with the infamous cupcakes - they bake as fast as they sell because they believe in absolute freshness, my cupcakes were still warm as I had them. They are without a doubt the best cupcakes I've ever had - sugary icing with slightly warm, soft, moist cake... OMG *swoons*

- Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) - great displays that make you think, will elaborate later

- Macy's
Chicago!Chicago!Chicago!

The first Broadway musical we watched - swung by TKTS and got half price tickets!
department store - no, I didn't buy anything there!!!

- World Trade Centre memorial - it impacted me much more than I expected to be, the enormity of the destruction hits you when you read the things family and friends write about the people who died that day, and the things sent for rescue workers, seeing the chapel where they rested and slept and ate toiling away at the debris left behind. They were smart enough to leave boxes of Kleenex around for people at least...

- And in something that amused and comforted me was Century 21 right across the street from WTC, a famous discount department store, and the people streaming in and out and scrabbling for items in the store. The hustle and bustle reminded me that life goes on even after devastation. (I did pick up a pair of Seven jeans there for $89...)

- Staten Island Ferry - free commuter ferry that goes by the Statue of Liberty, so we didn't have to pay to ferry out there!

I know we did more but I can't remember right now since it's 1 am... bedtime after I upload the photos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Hershey's Chocolate at Times SquareHershey's Chocolate at Times Square
Hershey's Chocolate at Times Square

Me doing the touristy thing and turning the handle as I pick up a little something for the office folk... ;)
Manhattan Skyline at SunsetManhattan Skyline at Sunset
Manhattan Skyline at Sunset

View from the top of the double decker tourist bus
September 11 / Century 21September 11 / Century 21
September 11 / Century 21

Tourists looking at the 9/11 Memorial while locals and tourists alike dash to discount department store Century 21, note the big red "sale" banner on the top - quite a contrast!
Tiles for AmericaTiles for America
Tiles for America

A spontaneous display after 9/11: the shopkeeper next to the fence hung a lone tile, then others started appearing and the City decided to leave it
Staten Island FerryStaten Island Ferry
Staten Island Ferry

Me and Candy on the big orange ferry :)
Statue of LibertyStatue of Liberty
Statue of Liberty

View from the Staten Island Ferry
Our pretty LCD TVOur pretty LCD TV
Our pretty LCD TV

A 32" LCD TV that I want to take home WAH! I think the Westin will jack the prices up even higher after buying these new gadgets though... >.<
iPod - it's party time!iPod - it's party time!
iPod - it's party time!

The very cool alarm clock/radio/iPod stereo that magically appeared in our room after housekeeping yesterday. Much better than the boring old Sony alarm clock we had :D I plugged in my iPod and we had a dance party lol


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb