Spider-Man Turn Off the Dark


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
February 24th 2012
Published: February 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Saw the show Wednesday Feb 15, 7pm performance.
The sets, costumes and effects in this show are beyond top notch. Having seen over 130 productions in the past 20 years I do have shows to compare it to (Wicked, Lion King, Ragtime). If they were going for a comic book feel, they truly succeeded. I am not a fan of comic books myself, but I loved the way the sets folded out and opened up. The costumes totally fit the feel of the show. Again with the comic book feel. I loved the Sinister Six costumes. Especially Carnage! Such fun.
The flying effects were lots of fun to watch. Being in the 3rd Mezz were perfect. I was able to see a good 90% of the flying action. It really did not add to the story or anything like that. It was just spectacle for spectacle sake. But it worked.
The story was nothing to shout about, but it was not the incoherent mess that a lot of the reviewers say it is. Sure, it's nothing real intelligent, but it is a great time waster. Like a summer blockbuster come to life before your eyes. I never saw the original version of the show so I don't have anything to compare it to in that aspect, but what I did see last week flowed pretty well and made sense. It's not Chekhov, it's Spider-Man. the relationship between MJ and her father should have been touched on more though. There was the once scene after No More, but nothing else was ever said about it. that was a little disappointing.
Now, for the score. This was the only let down in the show. It wasn't completely horrible, but it wasn't that great either. I do agree they should have brought in some actual Broadway Composers to help Bono and The Edge make the music a bit more 'theatrical.' By themselves, the songs are great, but they do not help move the show along that well. I got the CD when it came out and (yes I know the CD is missing almost half the songs and is not in show order) it does nothing to help tell the story of the show. Other cast albums I have easily tell the story of the show through the songs. Some of the songs are lots of fun to listen to and it is great to have fun visuals to go along with them (mostly "A Freak Like Me Needs Company"). I would love to have them come out with an actual Cast Album of the whole show. This show deserves it. Also, the performance they did at the Tony Awards last June did not do the show any justice. It's a pretty song, but it was a poor representation of the show. Freak Like Me should have been the choice. Also, and this is strictly related to the performance I saw, Reeve Carney was a little flat most of the time. I am sure doing the show can't be easy but, at least try to be on key.
Now on to the cast themselves. Reeve was not too bad. As stated above he had some pitch issues, but he was charismatic and did well in his scenes. Rebecca Faulkenberry was a great replacement for Jennifer Damiano. She was pitch perfect and her acting was wonderful. For me, the star of the show was Patrick Page. As Norman Osborne/Green Goblin he stole the show. Every scene he was in, he dominated. I almost wish they had changed the show and focused on him. He got the best lines and the best songs. As Arachne, Christina Sajous had such little stage time that i really can't critique it. But I did enjoy her mythology and her scene with Peter in Act 2 during his dream. Michael Mulheren was serviceable as J. Jonah Jameson. The character is so repugnant that I wanted to watch him die onstage. Damn!
In all, I really enjoyed the show as a whole. You really should go see it and formulate your own opinion. everyone likes different things.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb