Day 60 - New York City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
November 10th 2011
Published: November 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My last full day in New York City, and the United States of America. I'm approaching the end of my visit here and I know I'm going to miss it.

So the first thing I did today was head to Central Park, a near walk away, not far from my hostel. And I found it a beautiful place to walk through. It took a while, but I was able to enjoy it and take in as much as I could, at a slow pace. That's the beauty of it. It seems like the best place to hang out in town. There's things to do and see here; there's even an ice-skating rink. Pretty good for a park that much of is man-made.

After my stroll through here, I continued downtown. I made my way to the Empire State Building, the tallest building in New York. I took the elevator 86 floors up - quite tall indeed. There was quite a view, but unfortunately we couldn't see that clearly because of all the pollution.

Soon after this, I had arranged to meet another friend from the forum. This one was only planned since last night, and he lived right by the Brooklyn Bridge. His name was Keith, and we met just outside the subway station. He's a cadet in the police force. We had a great time chilling out as he showed me around Chinatown. We grabbed something to eat here as we talked about travelling and the forum. I got to learn about his life plans as well. He wanted to travel, and planned to pretty soon.

Then that was that, and before heading back to my hostel I decided to take a few minutes to check out Grand Central Station. Then back to my routine; hostel, subway, internet.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1007kb