Stress in the Big Apple


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
October 18th 2010
Published: October 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Washington SquareWashington SquareWashington Square

Look Who's Peeking!
I have been negligent in my journalling again and with good reason. The whole concept of coming here to study theatre and be a "tourist" has now reached a standstill and I am finding my time more consumed by program expectations. By this coming Saturday, which is a "performance" day for the program as it comes to a close, I find I must have the role of "Algernon" memorized in "The Importance of Being Earnest" for a scene demonstration as well as the role of a professor accused of sexual misconduct in David Mamet's, "Oleanna". All drama aside, both personal and emotional, I must add, I also must prepare a musical solo performance of the song, "Make Them Hear You" from the stage show, "Ragtime".


The butterflies in my stomach are immense and I am afraid that I will have to curtail my New York street ventures and resign myself to study. It's quite difficult when the sky is a piercing blue and the Empire State Building appears to be peaking in through my window beckoning me to come outside.

I did take one break yesterday, and sat in Washington Square where it was flooded with people...many were singing, others singing along, guitars strumming, voices humming, feet tapping and just a general consensus that the world was in a happy place. This square is quite magical because it seems to me that everyone is invited and that no one passes judgment on what people are doing. It's a haven of almost hippy-like happiness!

How strange to have the role of teacher and student reversed now! I can truly appreciate how they must feel when they are confined to their studies when there seems to be so much happening outside their door. "Discipline"! I keep reminding myself but in a city as magnificent as this, I am wrestling with the concept.

On a happier note, I did catch a Broadway show last week and was able to meet two of its stars, Laura Linney and Christina Ricci after the performance. I was so mesmerized by Ms. Linney's performance and when I had the opportunity to tell her that everything we were learning in this drama program came to life on the stage with her magnificent performance, she held my hand and thanked me and said that meant a lot to her. It was a nice moment indeed to meet with someone so talented and so gracious.

And so, back to the books I go...I need to prepare before the curtain rises!

Advertisement



19th October 2010

Sing out Louise
Can you convert the Ragtmie song intosomething Ms. Ross might do? I can't imagine you being all stressout wuiththe singing part. You have such stage presence and certainly know how to milk a crowd [ but then they are not all your fans yet... or are they!!!] As for rubbing shoulders withthe STARS of Broadway .... I am not surprised. Laura Linney is one of my favourites and I think destined for some major award soon!! All the best with your performances and being nervous is absolutely natural.. even Barbra S has had problems before performances .. probably still does. .. break a leg!! or if necessary show some leg.. you never know who is out there watching. Ken

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb