New York City - a Quick Visit


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
November 14th 2005
Published: April 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bryant ParkBryant ParkBryant Park

Ice Skating Rink
Monday morning I woke up, after sleeping in past my intended wake up time, quite sore from the miles we walked the previous day, but refused to let that hinder me from walking the same amount or more for the second day in a row. My Swiss friends were off to work and so I was solo today.

I arrived at the same central bus station as the day before and felt I had good bearings right away. I headed the opposite direction from my walking tour the day before, planning a walk in the general direction of MOMA, which was my final destination. The first sight of the day was Bryant Park with its lunch time ice skaters enjoying some outdoor exercise; there was a mix of people enjoying the opportunity, including those dressed in business suits, moms with their kids, probable college students, and one lone serious skater. It was quite a quintessential Manhattan experience, seeing these skaters amongst all the high rises in the middle of a very urbanized area. I walked on and past the New York Library, I had planned on taking a peak inside but it was closed on Mondays, and then on toGrand
St. Patrick's CathedralSt. Patrick's CathedralSt. Patrick's Cathedral

5th Avenue Gothic Beauty
Central Terminal. I was surprised to see how large and busy this was; it was filled with services, shops, dine dining, and the ‘Grand Central Market’ food hall that was filled with yummy temptations. I grabbed a quick bit to eat while here and couldn’t resist also doing a little shopping. Then I continued on to see St. Patrick’s Cathedral, strolling along 5th Avenue, then arriving at MOMA a couple hours prior to closing time. This was a perfect amount of time for me to see at least a couple of the most interesting floors of exhibits; including modern art films, new ideas of ‘art’, and some of the more famous 20th century artists including some of my favorites, Van Gogh, Picasso, and Warhol. On the walk back I hit Rockefeller Center to see the ice the famous statue of Atlas, the ice skaters and the UN flags.

I was by then quite tired and so decided to look for some place to eat on the way back to the Port Authority bus station, which was close to Times Square. I passed through Times Square but it was getting late and it didn’t seem to take on the same energy as it had on the weekend….and nothing jumped out at me in the way of dining selections. So I ended up at the Westin’s Bar 10 lounge, which had terrible service and only so-so food, but had a nice view overlooking 8th Avenue.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

MOMA - PicassoMOMA - Picasso
MOMA - Picasso

One of my Favorite Artists


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb