Back in New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 11th 2010
Published: April 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Beautiful and sunny in New York with warm temperatures that rival the Spring of 2000. Now that I am no longer traveling and momentarily settled, I can begin to do the real work of analyzing the collections, images, iconographic and painting styles of the various museums and private collections in China. There were many exiting finds and wonderful new painting styles found - created by currently unknown master artists. Some of these artists' names will be found from the local areas from where the paintings have come from originally. Further follow-up will also be required and keeping in touch with many of the new contacts in China. It was certainly the best art trip to China thus far for the HAR team.

It was a long flight back from Hong Kong to New York and I have now quite decided that for long hall flights the Coach Class seating, exit row, aisle, is more comfortable than Business Class. It is all fine for those of you under six feet five inches or so. If you are over that height then the new modified coffin seats of Business Class are neither wide enough, nor long enough. My shoulders press against the sides of the coffin and my feet hang dangerously into the aisle as a tripping hazard for all flight attendants. I wish it wasn't so but alas it is. My future strategy will be to try and always fly on slow days, never traveling on weekends, especially in China, hoping no one sits next to me in Coach Class, and if they do, that they are not too big. That is my plan.

Until I visit China again, probably in late summer or early fall, I am back using the regular Travel Blog: http://jeffwatt.blogspot.com/

Check regularly the HAR News Page for updates and discoveries made on this visit to China: http://www.himalayanart.org/news/

So ends the Spring 2010 Adventure in China.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.6kb