Lunching With Celebrity #35 (Penny)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
January 6th 2010
Published: January 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Detective Angel BatistaDetective Angel BatistaDetective Angel Batista

Celebrity Sighting #35: David Zayas
My long-lost childhood friend, Holly-the-Dubai-dwelling-flight-attendant, landed in New York yesterday for 24 hours of girl time. We popped into the Meatpacking district's Pastis for lunch, (a fabulous restaurant so coveted weekend brunches must be booked weeks in advance), and caught up on 20 years of missed life experiences.

As we were leaving, the guy sharing my banquette seat kindly shifted his entire table to allow me to pass before calling out to me. He handed me my forgotten scarf and I was overwhelmed with the feeling that I was locking eyes with an old friend, (as you tend to do with celebs). I thanked him, (what a lovely, unpretentious guy), then scampered off behind Holly, furiously whispering, "Holls! That guy was famous! Who is he?? I can't place him but he must be someone's boyfriend on 'Sex and the City' or something 'coz I know I've been watching him loads lately".

Holly was perplexed. "Which guy? You mean that overweight man with the goatee?"

Not being a 'Dexter' fan, Holly had no idea. Then it hit me .... Detective Angel Batista!!! God knows why he chose to leave sunny Miami for a spot of MINUS 13 DEGREES celsius in Manhattan that day. (By the way, if you don't watch 'Dexter', get to it. It's the most original and addictive series out there).

The day turned more obscure as we headed off to Holly's appointment at Kleinfelds, the world's poshest wedding gown boutique. Double golden doors slid open to reveal a triple height lobby of 5-star hotel proportions. A disclaimer announced today's filming of reality TV show, "Say Yes To The Dress" as we were whisked into a private dressing room by our heavily-made-up assistant with visible facelift stitches behind the ears.

After a brief run-down of Holly's 'don't wants': (no lace, sequins, pearls, diamontes, fluff, frills, veils, crystals, flowers, or fuss), our plastic fantastic assistant declared, "Let's go shopping!" and channelled us through a ghastly tunnel of plastic-wrapped meringues and giant tutus that left our hairs standing hilariously on end thanks to plastic static.

An hour and a half later, the perfect dress glowed 10 shades of 'pearl white' brighter than the slew of crumpled satin on the dressing room floor. Our job was done. (Incase her fiancé reads this, I will reveal no more). Then I dashed off and left Holly in her g-string negotiating prices and alteration dates as I had NBA tickets that night. (Had to balance all that girliness with a bit of quality boytime).



Advertisement



6th January 2010

Oh man!! Angel Batista!!!!!! my absolute FAVOURITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7th January 2010

Batista
I knew you'd love that KBH!

Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 13; qc: 92; dbt: 0.2093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb