Happy Birthday Tooo Meeeeee .... (Penny)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
April 9th 2009
Published: April 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was spectacularly sun-drenched ... as though Obama switched off the snow-making machine overnight especially for my birthday. I awoke to a postponed job interview leaving me free to celebrate my ancientness all day. Dave whisked me through subway madness to a surprise lunch destination midtown.

I still get lost in the maze of Manhattan streets (despite the logically number grid system), so it wasn't till the last second that my all time favorite New York spot revealed its glorious self: Bryant Park. Oooh, I LOVE this park so much! We grabbed gourmet salads & sandwiches from a nearby deli and reclined contentedly in the toasty sun, people-watching & eavesdropping like the audience of a live sitcom.

The afternoon bled into a Fifth Avenue stroll towards the posh Upper East Side. Unfortunately no celebrities were spotted, although I did overhear a woman name-dropping her play date with Kate Hudson. We wove through Central Park spring blossoms towards the infamous Magnolia Bakery where Dave scoffed a murderously sweet white-chocolate brownie concoction in honor of my 32 years. I was content to watch. I've finally beaten the cupcake addiction!

As the sun set, Keri, Scott, Dave & I met up with Aussie Pete (& Southern-girl Jessie) for a chilli-fairylight Indian extravaganza followed by $2 margaritas (!) in a local bar. Eeerrgghhh, too much green salt and tequila.

Oh, and the Manhattan magic struck again last night. We scored free pre-release cinema tickets on the street and signed up as FREE permanent rent-a-crowd seat fillers for future brand new movies and Broadway shows. Did I mention I love this city??





Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



10th April 2009

omigod!! you look hot!!!
Happy birthday!! you look so wonderful! your hair is gorgeous and that dress looks amazing on you!!! love the pics. miss you heaps!!! xxkirstyxx
11th April 2009

Fish Eye
Love the fish eye....
12th April 2009

man i love new york too!! seeing all your photos is getting me frisky to come and visit!! keep the photos rolling they are fantastic!!
14th April 2009

2nd Honeymoon?
..... Have you considered it KB? New York, NEW YORK!
14th April 2009

Fisheye
Ha! I know one person who'd suit this bar!
14th April 2009

Pizza Quest
Hey Rob, I'll pass on your pizza recommendation to Dave. Infact, ooh, hang on... Did somebody say pizza??... he's already out the door and halfway across the Brooklyn Bridge!
14th April 2009

I forgot the subtitle ....
.... "styled by Miss. K, Mootz" .... thanks sooooo much for the birthday dress! It caused a ruckuss. I was lining up for the bathroom in Bryant Park and this random guy whips past and says in the LOUDEST voice: "Woah, grrrrreat dress!". Everyone within a 10 mile radius turned to assess his opinion. So embarrassing. Can't believe you gave your favorite dress to me. That compliment was meant for you!
16th April 2009

HaPpY BiRtHdAy PeNnY!
Happy Birthday Penny! You so do not look 32. Sounds like u had a great day!

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 91; dbt: 0.1135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb