Ohh.....all right....just one last stop!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
June 26th 2008
Published: August 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Big Apple - I just had a stopover of one night and one day to explore the capital on my way home. So I whizzed round like a crazy tourist on a tight schedule taking in the main sites...Grand Central Station, Statue of Liberty, Fifth Avenue (strictly window shopping only, just to see Saks and other famous shops), Times Square, The Empire State building, Central Park. I had bagels for breakfast, rode the subway, walked up Broadway at night with all the lights and billboards, (I tried to get a chinese take away in a cardboard pot but failed and ended up giving away the worst chinese I have ever had to a tramp sitting on a bench in Strawberry fields with a sign that said: Why lie? I just need a beer.), surprised the latino hostel staff by replying in Spanish and, despite not thinking I would like a big city after a month sailing, thoroughly enjoyed it.
What a great city.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 89; dbt: 0.107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb