Finally moving!!! It's gonna be a busy few days...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
June 1st 2007
Published: June 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Us!Us!Us!

Donna and I in Union Square. Bye New York! We'll be back!!!
Hello Lorin and Donna fans!
Here is the first entry of our travel blog before we leave Manhattan and head to Boston. I'm graduating on sunday, and I'm really excited to have my fiance, family, and friends all in attendance. I'm thankful for all of them and I love them all. I know it's going to be really busy for the next few days....if the last month+ has been any hint. Donna and I have been busting our buns trying to get all of our stuff ready for the move to Los Angeles. Needless to say, it's been a challenge, but we're almost there! I'm so ready to move on to the next chapter in our lives together...which is, of course, our two month trip to southeast asia! For those who don't know the whole plan, here is a very rough synopsis: we are beginning our journey in Bangkok, Thailand then going north to Chiang Mai and Pai (both in nothern Thailand), then onto Luang Prabang and Vang Vieng (in Laos), then to Hanoi, Halong Bay, Sapa, Hoi An, Dalat, and Saigon/Ho Chi Minh City (in Vietnam), then onto Siem Reap and Battambang (in Cambodia), then onto Krabi, Ko Phi Phi, Ko Phangan, and finally Ko Tao (in Thailand).
We are also very fortunate to have the oportunity to spend a week doing volunteer optometry work in Battambang, Cambodia. We are volunteering through a great organization called the Seva Foundation (www.seva.org). Seva is an international non-profit organization based out of Berkeley, California. They do optometry and ophthalmology work in third-world nations around the globe. Surprisingly enough, I originally heard of them by going to Grateful Dead concerts. (Who knew that would ever lead to something as cool as this???) The Grateful Dead have long been associated with the Seva Foundation, and have donated tons of money to the organization over the years. In fact, they often have "Seva Benefit Concerts" every year with some of my favorite musicians.
So anyway, Donna and I will do our best to update this blog as often as possible with both pictures and stories. Please check it often, as we will undoubtedly have some awesome stuff to share with everyone.


Advertisement



1st June 2007

Good luck
Sounds like a great trip you've got planned. I've been back from mine (i used the same blog) for a few months and miss the road like hell. My only word of advice is that you may want to slow down; stay in one place for a few days or a week instead of trying to cram a lot in. It's much less exhausting and, at least for, more fulfilling. All the best!
1st June 2007

OMG that is way awesome
That sounds like one cool trip. Bryan and I just got back from Thailand (our honeymoon). We were really sorry that you guys couldn't make it to our wedding on April 28th. boo!!! We were in Chiang Mai too! Make sure when you get there you ride an elephant. And there is an aboriginal tribe called the Mong tribe up in the hills past the queens palace. They are way cool, and have some cool stuff (if you know what i mean..so i've heard). I can't believe you are going to be in thailand and are not stopping by phuket!! that was our favorite place...seriously, no joke, its paradise!!! I hope you guys have an adventure, post some pictures SOON!!! Love, your new cousin, Emi Bishop
1st June 2007

you guys rock!
you two are in for such a treat- this is very good news indeed. reading the names of all those places so near and dear makes me want to climb out of my skin with jealously! please give hanoi a big hug for me, and please, if you find yourself in nha trang, whatever you do, find mama han (green hat business) and take her day boat trip. and tell her to have a f***ing cold beer for me!! can't wait to see some pics. HAVE FUN! love and love, xoxo claudine
1st June 2007

lucky ducks!
wishing you all the best. have a great time, i'll be thinking of you! sooooooooooo envious!!! muah!
3rd June 2007

Congrats!
Hey Loin! Congrats on becoming a Dr. Marcos and I wish we had gone to your graduation. I wish the timing were a little better. I hope you and Donna have an awesome time on your trip. That is a trip Marcos and I will definitely have to take some time! Molly says: "I love you Uncle Lorin and Aunt Doh-na." Donna - I swear we are trying to train her to say your name the right way... Love you guys and can't wait to see more of the blog!! Amanda
4th June 2007

Hey travel monkeys ... I've not met you yet Lorin and I haven't seen Donna in about 10 years, but congratulations on everything. Sounds like it's been an amazing few months for you guys. My advice for the blog ... make time for it. It's not only cool for the outsiders to read ... but it's a nice to journal to have later on. Have a wonderful trip!
4th June 2007

Good travels!
Hey guys, just wanted to say good luck and happy travels! I look forward to reading about your adventures. Stay safe and have fun! Virginia
30th June 2007

=)
I wish you the best on your trip. i just looked through the travel blog and am quite jealous. i am sure this is the trip of a lifetime, happy memories!!!

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb