Back to the Big City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
July 3rd 2005
Published: July 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

So I'm actually back to where I started now, and all has not changed apart from the weather, which has obviously learned its lesson and toned itself down a bit for its British visitors :p Me and Rogelio (There's a Welsh 'ch' sound where the g is, and so it makes me feel better!) we didn't get to see a lot of Boston after my update yesterday. And a quick side note, there won't be a lot of text to this for the simple reason that I have half an hour, I'm in the easyinternet cafe again!

Last night was weird. After my update, I waited for him to come down to the busy common room again so we could find out where we were going and sort out a broadway show for today, but because it was busy we ended up staying up til gone 1AM. But, as my friend Matt in work would say 'There's plenty of time to sleep when you're dead'. I knew I had to catch the 8 AM shuttle the next day, but I've had worse nights than that at home before work the next day so I could handle it! I did manage to leave a note to the staff and a favour from Rogelio to wake me up should my alarm clock on my phone fail (Reminiscing to the last saturday before I left... 😉 ) I did have a bit of trouble with finding out my battery had run out, and so had to search through my stuff while finding the plug converter and the charger itself and finding a socket all while my three room mates were sleeping!

However, bright and early, I woke up in time, to the knocking of the door which happened twice (But I was already getting changed at both times so thanks to them anyway!) It was a shame to leave the place, as there was a really good feel there. Definitely would stay there again in the future.

The shuttle brought us to the station, and during that time, including on the shuttle, I met four kids from oxford University. Mina, Pam, Ally and Omar. However, I did get the typical stereotype of those students image from them. That is, the 'we are better than you tosh Haw haw haw *snort*' type of thing. Lol, they weren't all like that, just the main two. When we caught the train, we were hoping to catch the bus into New York by using the 9AM service, but the delayed trains and lack of them prevented us, so we had to find and then wait around the bus station until the next one at 10AM. I had a McDonalds, asked for the McGriddle with sausage egg and cheese. Tasted it. Something a bit funny, but kind of nice. Looked at it carefully, splodges of moist in the actual bun. Then I figured it out. They were pancakes with syrups splodges! Sweet and savoury stuff together is an odd sensation, but I dont really think i could eat another one for a while. I can still see the grease on my fingers!

We got into the line at a time we thought would be early, but already the queue, sorry, LINE was full and overflowing. We did get a seat together though at the back. Another interesting side note. People here have cellphones, but there's nowhere near the same type of usage in the two countries UK and USA. They still seem to have a new-ish feel here, with a lot of people wearing them on their belts, and not a lot of them anyway. Also, a lot of the users use the speakerphone option, where the voice blasts out of their phone for everyoner to hear, and it also means they never have to hold them to their ears. Straneg to completely understand, but I'll probably do a better job of explaining it in person, should you be interested!

The bus journey was uneventful, because Rogelio fell asleep for most of it, and I just sort of nodded off for a few minutes and then was snapped awake and read a good chunk of my book (Which is getting interesting! It's called 'In Your Dreams' by Tom Holt) We made good time on the bus, geting there a full 40 minutes earlier than expected. Then I decided to call home, but nobody answered. My friend called his and got one. Damn it! Hehe :D

We decided first thing was to drop off our luggage in the hostels, and we were staying in different ones. We went to mine first because the bus station was next to Times Square, and so was the hostel. First impressions were very good. Clean, accessible, friendly-ish. I just dropped my stuff in my room and left.

Then we headed to Rogelio's hostel. It took a lot of public transport usage and walking to get there, but he had a nice place just next to central park. It was called jazz in the Park hotel, so it was as expected quite jazzy, with orange walls, a general relaxed vibe, something I cant really write down. However, the person behind the desk and him spoke spanish because they could, and I felt left out, but it only enthused myself to leaernt eh language even more so! I dont think I mentioned that properly, but I WILL learn Spanish, starting already! I can say many simple phrases, and he's also teaching me a bit of the grammar and stuff too :D

We decided to go check if any shows were showing that we could catch, but this is the 4 July Weekend and everywhere would be booked probably, but we thought we'd give it a shot. As he wanted to go to Mass in St Peters Square and it was a walk away, we only checked the Lion King (Sold out until tuesday) before he head to go. I walked there with him, and we agreed to meet after while I checked the others. The same result, all fully booked or not showing on a sunday.

We met up afterwards and did a traipse around for some place to eat, and we settled on a half buffet, half fast food and half (Three halves, I realise, is inaccurate, but :p to you mathematicians!) all you can eat piza and pasta italian place. I had a giant mushroom pizza slice and garlic bread, with a berry drink which was gorgeous! But nothing will beat the Strawberry and banana smoothie type fruit shake I had in jamba Juice on my second day. That was a drink of drinks!

After food, we walked around Central park, and watched a bit of a softball game between the local kids and then lay down on this huge lawn which was slightly Singleton Park-esque, basically a huge lawn where everyone was hanging out having picnics, with FANTASTIC views of skyscrapers peeking above the treetops with an evening sky background. Lovely!

And after that we split up on the subway and I made it back to my hostel. And lo and behold, I meet a new traveller, first time to England will be soon and she only just arrived in New York! She's called Sandy, she's lovely, and she will be joining me, Rogelios and his friend with us tomorrow, so it shall be a great day!

And that's where I'm ending ity cos the computer shutting down. Love to all, KEEP READING!

Russ/Epiq

Advertisement



4th July 2005

Regards from over here.
Hey Russ!(Dave's bro here) Sounds like you're having a fantastic time! What you're doing is really cool, and you're a huge inspiration to me! All the best!

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb