Here at last!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
June 28th 2005
Published: June 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I am overloaded with information about New York! My first impressions were as always, completely understated. I mean my impressions are always understated, not like I go to New York all the time and I'm always dissappointed... never mind! Haha. The first thing I noticed was the heat. If I'd paid more attention to anyone or anything about New York weather, I would have known it is so much hotter than UK, but not only that, its got to be one of the hottest places on Earth! Not really, but its very very hot and humid. I'm sweating like crazy!

First stop after the depressingly messy JFK airport was the hostel, but that took me ages to find! The plane was a little delayed too, but I got to my hostel, and on the way I met the typical friendly American. One was a visitor from another city in NY and one was a french speaking New York taxi cab driver. He knew where Wales was!

After arriving, it was too late to really do anything, so I had a quick look for a web cafe but there werent any so I thought I would try to find one in the morning. The room of mine was clean, but nothing special, but I am very happy with it at the moment. It has air conditioning, so I can count my blessings for that! I knew there were other people staying in it, as it was an 8 bed room and there were two lots of stuff, and it was only when I got back from my late evening walk that I met them. One's a boy my age called Kyle from Ohio, and the others a Korean similar age called Shimi (I think). Nice people, though I feel like I talk way too much :s No change there!

Before I me thtem though, I was hanging around in the reception and met this girl from Miami called Laura. She explained she was here for a lawsuit she's filing against her arrest for protesting. We hung around while she found a hostel or a shop she could get cash from to pay her room. After a while she found another hostel, but she gave me her cellphone number, as they call it here, to me so I'm going to ring it to try and meet up.

Biggest shock so far? No Tescos! Lol, not really, just the general culture shock. And there's hardly any 'white folks' as a passenger I sat next to kindly put it. Its nowhere near as dangerous as they say, but I know to still keep aware etc, its a very interesting city. Things are cheaper, but they adda sales tax, but even with that its still quite cheap for an expensive city :D I found this fruit juice bar called Jamba Juice which is the best place I've visited, aswell as the subway opposite my hostel. I've had great food! Been past the Tonight Show and Late Show sdtudio entrances. Seen a lot of FBI style black cars, and there are things that happen here that wouldnt happen anywhere else for exaple, I passed a man who just jumped out of his car, he was the only person in it, left the door open to yell at the car behind him. Anybody could have stolen it! I resisted though.

Haven't bought a digital camera, but there's a Kodak cam I'm thinking about getting. Also, the iPods are much cheaper out here! And I went into this cheapy type elctronics shop, where I was first offered a camera for $399, but as the conversation went on he lowered it to $299, $249 and finally $199 each new price he lowered his voice further. I think I insulted him when I told him I'd have to get it in a couple of days, but decided not to return because it looked possibly stolen! haha

Anyway, thats enough for me because I'll be bankrupt with the way I'm carrying on! Next time I come to America I'm getting wireless for my laptop. So much cheaper! Peace out,

Russ/Epiq

Advertisement



13th July 2005

Cool Entry!
Hello, I was doing some research on the Net and came across your entry. Iv always wanted to go to Manhattan and your entry has given me a little bit more insight to how things work. Thanks Dude. Aden from Sydney Australia aden_qaffan@hotmail.com

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0897s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb