Our New York Adventure


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
October 6th 2017
Published: October 6th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Our Flight Path


This year Mum and I are making our way to New York for our holidays. We will be spending most of our time in New York but have a side trip to Niagara Fall and a Disney Cruise to the CanadIan Coast. I enjoy researching and planning on my standby shifts at work and have a lot of new adventures planned for us both over the next 5 weeks. I hope to share some of these experiences in this blog.

This trip I booked our flights with Qantas for one reason only .... we get 2 x 23kgs cases each (this will save me in postage ?)

Our total flight time was just under 21 hours flying via Los Angeles. I’m happy to say we survived the stampede in LA changing flights and but I needed my new favourite drink to settle in (Vodka and Ginger Beer) As we were landing Mum was amazed with all the car lights ...I smiled and she ain’t seen anything yet.

As we’re staying in New York for 3 weeks, I booked us an apartment rather than a hotel. I was a little worried we wouldn‘t have a lot of room for
1744A0A4-250E-4589-B3F5-A58F821DF11B.1744A0A4-250E-4589-B3F5-A58F821DF11B.1744A0A4-250E-4589-B3F5-A58F821DF11B.

Flavours White Pumpkin Pie and Pecan Pie purchased
our shopping but I was wonderfully surprised by how big the appartment is.

Our plan for the first couple of days was to do the hop on hop off bus to get our bearings. This was a good plan until I heard that the Yankees were playing a Wild Card game and I was able to get us tickets.

We loved the Baseball experience and the atmosphere rivaled the South’s Grand Final win. I treated mum to a hot dog and beer as we witnessed fanatic fans cheer the Yankees onto a 8 to 4 win Over the Minasotta Twins. I’d never seen so many home runs live in a baseball game. It was very exciting. Unfortunately our aim at being ‘that random South fan in the crowd‘ was unsuccessful this time. But we have a few more sporting events to attend. I didn’t see a crowd figure but the stadium was packed and so were the subway trains home. From experience I refused to get on a packed train and sure enough another train turned up and was practically empty.

Due to the late night we started off very late on our second day for another day on the hop on hop off bus which included a night tour. We‘re getting around like locals now but haven’t mastered jay walking due to the incredible traffic.

Unfortunately one of the bus stops was in Times Square was near the M & M Store and Disney store ... yes we went in both ..... and brought a few essentials ?


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



7th October 2017

Well done.
Great start Rae. Sounds like fun so far.
11th October 2017

Great times
It all looks so good. I would say "the trip of a lifetime" but know that others have been great too - and probably will be again! Enjoy it all! Give Donald a hug for me - Duck not the other one!!

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb