to sing or not to sing, that is not the question, more of a a statement.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Buffalo
April 1st 2013
Published: April 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello friends, this is my first entry in The States in a couple months. Feels good to be back. i won't get too philosophical on you about feeling good😊

I am at my aunt's and uncle's house, Bob and Nancy, in Williamsville outside Buffalo. What a sweet couple and great of them to host me! I really appreciate the meal, the bed, the shower and the second meal. got to spend time with family last night. saw my dad, and step mom. i saw and chatted with others to like Kathy and Michael, Kellie, JIm and his daughter Kara, other friends of the family. Nancy pulled out a family history. appaently the we trace roots back to Bavaria and Hessia (probably where the name Hess comes from), Germany. it is interesting to see pictures of my grandfather and even older pictures of his family. my grandfather Floyd looks like a rock star with his great curly fluffy hair. there is picture of my grandmother Hazel in a hand built boat in a pond. there a bunch of dirty kids standing around the shore as they are about to push off. seemed like ancient times, early times, perhaps during the depression maybe. anyway the picture was in black and white. there were some color pictures too like my cousin Christine and Aaron on a pony, and one of all of us kids on a camping trip. I have cousin Alex in my lap. he was just a babe. it was nice to look over this. we came over (immigrated) on boats, obviously. some went to Canada, then came to Buffalo later. they came over around 1830. they were the Gage's. this was my grandmothers maiden name, I beileve. This is also the name of Stahl in there as well as Drediel. there is lots of family history but to suffice to say someone went to the investigation tabe and brought it all to life by writing it down. thanks for that!

It was snowing this morning, but is clear and sunny with puffy clouds now here in Buffalo. NO problem getting across the border over the Peace bridge. they asked a couple of questions, made me roll down my windows and off i went into the great American wilderness😊

I feel grateful to be able to share with you and to continue the experience. i will go to Rochester today and see more of my dad, Betty, Danielle and Tina. Betty is my Step-mon. Danielle is her daughter and Tina is a riend of the family. they all share a home together.

Having a nice morning with Bob. he showed me his collection of special mugs, Avon mugs, which are Stein mugs. they have all kinds of designs on them like space themes, baseball history themed, Gold Rush in California, and others. they also have a collection of Chares Dickens books; the full collection I believe as well as the Jane Austen collection like Pride and Preuidice, Sense and Sensibility. They seem very dry. Some of the Dickens material looks interesting taking place in the late 1700's, early 1800's. he, and she, wrote lots!

Did I tell you about the Buffalo in the road while driving to Toronto through Canada? Well, if I didn't two BUffalo were running down the middle of the orad outside Sue St. Marie. appaently they had escaped from their enclosure we just saw with the rest of the 50 or so number of herd. well, it was quite a seen! we almost got hit by a truck stopping to see it all. hands a flashing, cars stopped and people running about trying to contain these two big guys.

well... i will leave you with some poetry/song:



Untitled (perhaps unfinshed)

I like to sing my song

ain't nothin wrong with it

i like to hear my voice

its freedom of choice



to sing or not to sing



this song was in my head when i worke this morning.



thanks for now. Happy Easter friends. Thank you to Shawn's family for letting me stay. I had a great time and slept well. No loud music was playing through the nite! thanks to Shawn's dad for the meal at the Bagel shop. It was nice to meet you David and Brian. It was nice to meet Nancy and Shaws's step dad, the musician! Thank you Shawn.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb