Taking it all in...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Buffalo
July 19th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Twenty six days away from the big move and nothing seems to be any different. Its only natural for me to take each day as if I were never leaving, then quietly slip out the back door and step into Central America. I can't make any big speeches or last testaments and I only see fit to save the goodbyes for close loved ones. The truth is that many of my friends wont know where I am until I am there and they receive an invite to this blog.

So right now I am just taking it all in, making sure I fully appreciate South Wales for what it is. Trying to spend time with a few people before I leave. Swimming in the pond as often as possible. At this point I am unsure of who smells worse Ruca or myself. We both take a dip almost every day and were starting to smell like a barn full of hippies.

Each day I think of a new thing I need before I leave. Do they have Rolaids in Honduras? How about Hanes boxer briefs? Should I bring a wireless internet router in the event that my apartment has internet? How many books can I fit in my suitcase without exceeding the weight limit? These are the things I think about.

However, most of the day my mind notices special things about this area that I would never take note of if I were to stay here forever.

For example:
* The smell of South Wales during the change of seasons
* The sound of frogs signing at night
* Cartoons in english
* Book stores (with books printed in english)
* Horseradish, chicken wings and pizza
* Hockey and Lacrosse
* Healthy well fed animals... not very common in some other countries
* Trees

I can't name one single thing I will miss the most about this place, but I do know that I will miss it all greatly. So I have no other option, but to take it all in before I leave.

00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS

Till blastoff


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb