Taos


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Taos
September 16th 2009
Published: September 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Desert to MountainsDesert to MountainsDesert to Mountains

This transition from high desert to high mountains is the magic of Taos
Taos, New Mexico - Longish emotional update, so please forgive unconnected thoughts or grammatical errors. Betty would always proof read my writing before allowing me to post it to our blog. KC is less critical.

This is one of my top 3 favorite locations to visit and has always been at the top of my “want to live there” list. Although growth and emphasis on tourism has occurred, Taos is still high on my list. I have always want to live in or around the Taos and part of this visit was to check out real estate for a possible move. However I learned on the drive from Moab, UT through Cortez, CO that Taos is to far from my favorite photography ”hot spots”.

All that said, I love it here and the transition from high desert to high mountains is magnificent. The sense of openness and freedom along with the peace of being “home” that I experience no where else. I also have a passion to create when I am here not just photography, but also writing. Santa Fe comes close, but to many people, to many machines. I would recommend everyone (Judy) visit at least once and
Plaza CottonwoodPlaza CottonwoodPlaza Cottonwood

Cottonwood tree has survived many generations, but symbolizes the strength and pull of the Plaza
if you are artistically inclined, you may never leave. There are probably more galleries and artists of all types concentrated in this small area than anywhere else in the US (including Santa Fe).

Betty was less enthusiastic about living in Taos and I believe it was related to 2 issues: 1. To far away from her “chickens”; 2. It snows here!!!! Yes it snows and there are at least 4 ski areas within an hour of Taos. Taos Ski Valley and Angel Fire are the largest and best known. Taos Ski Valley has a reputation of not being created for the “faint of heart”. At one time it had 70% black runs. I don't know if that has changed, but based on our visit yesterday, the 2 runs to the bottom were steep and narrow. I visualized myself at full speed throwing up a rooster tail of dry snow hurtling down the last 500 yards with my sun-bleached blond hair (OK slightly gray) trailing behind in the wind tunnel I create. I was transported to days on the slopes in Colorado, Utah, and Canada, but then I got out of the car to check on KC and pain shot
Taos PuelboTaos PuelboTaos Puelbo

The building stands a tribute to the generations under century old mountains protection
from my knees - reality returned.

There were 2 places really Betty enjoyed. First was the Taos Pueblo and central Taos specifically The Plaza. The Plaza was the central location peoples gathered to sell their wares, trade commodities, and discuss the events of the day. At the turn of the century (1898) a group of well known artists moved to Taos marking the beginning of the Artistic community (google - taos artists). From the plaza we found galleries and crafts shops of great quality. There are many more now in the downtown area. Our first visits found the Plaza much different than today and it is to these times I dedicate Betty's memory.

Betty. We know of the artists who gathered in Taos and after the first visit we understood that the Plaza although nothing fancy was where the Native Americans gathered to sell or trade their creations. The energy of creativity was all around and then artists congregated to capture the essence of the Southwest and Taos. So this morning I stand alone under a huge cottonwood tree in the Plaza remembering you and how your spiritual self uncovered a new sense of creativity from your persona.
Pueblo CottonwoodPueblo CottonwoodPueblo Cottonwood

A tree of shelter, memories and dedication
The Plaza represents this awaking and I dedicate the energy and creativity to those who may have the same awaking in your memory.

The Taos Pueblo is the best example of pueblo living I have found. In some ways it is similar in overall design to the Cliff Palace of Mesa Verde. It is a large multi-story series of connected living spaces of typical adobe structure. There are also clusters of multiple living spaces as well as individual units. Kivas were also constructed to support sacred rituals. Building began in the 1300s and today workers were covering the exterior walls with a stucco like mixture as previous generations have done. The whole complex is magnificent , but understanding the history of the building and the peoples who lived in it made our visits truly unique. So I remember our first visit during this dedication and the magic moment we had.

Betty. It was an early morning when we ventured to the Pueblo during a bit of a shower but our spirits were not dampened. We had had our coffee, but little else. As we walked over to the Pueblo there was an elderly woman making and selling fry bread. We were the only ones around and for the first time sampled fry bread ($1) and sampled another and then another. This was an unbelievable
treat and as the sun broke through shining on the Pueblo we stood in awe. This was a magnificent moment and we felt the awaking of bygone spirits arising to warm in the sun. So I dedicate the view of the Pueblo from under the cottonwood tree we stood during the shower and know you will conger up the spirit of the elderly fry bread baker and thank her for all that she delivered that morning.

A final memory from one of our last visits to the area. We came in a different way from Colorado Springs across US 64 from I 25 after visiting Melanie et al. We dropped down off a pass to view and drive through a place called Eagles Nest (elevation 8250). As we traveled through Eagles Nest and got on the other side of a large lake, we both exclaimed this is Chelsea country. Chelsea our grand-daughter and at the time a young horse woman and would love Eagles nest. This was horse country and we stopped much
Chelseas CountryChelseas CountryChelseas Country

A horse, a horse, my kingdom for a horse
as I did yesterday to photograph the area for Chelsea. I include a photo and I am sure you will be able to see the horse people riding fence, herding cattle and just enjoying the day on a horse in the solitude of this piece of mommy natures heaven.

This morning as I walked between buildings at the Pueblo and I came upon the Pueblo cemetery. At the time I was recording what I had seen and experienced. As I looked up I was overwhelmed with emotion and was unable to continue recording. I had just made a dedication on Betty's behalf and now her death became so real as if I were visiting her grave. Yet, how marvelous, she was resting along side the generations of peoples we learned to appreciate and respect under cover of these beautiful mountains along a creek. I have not had a spontaneous moment like this in quite awhile and even though each dedication is emotional with some more intense than others, I cherish these moments as they are the reason for this trip - yes tribute, but also saying good-bye.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb