A world full of Miracles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Santa Fe
January 26th 2006
Published: September 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

For some reason I decided to book my flight to Denver in order to reach Santa Fe instead of Albuquerque, New Mexico, which is like 700 km CLOSER! That meant catching the Greyhound down south to spend a whole day on that bus. I guess I kind of imagined to see some interesting scenery....and I really didn't anticipate at all, that I might end up in a snow storm.

The bus driver was not exactly over the moon about the snowfall, but for me, having just come over from completely snowed in Ottawa, Canada, where we had to clear about a meter and half of snow the morning I flew out in order to even get the door open, I thought it was a little over the top that she panicked with the slightest slip. (I just kept wondering how someone can not LOVE driving in snow. Isn't it so much fun??). So due to a slightly freaked out bus conducter we arrived 4 hours late! Unfortunately on top of everything I decided to walk in order to save money instead of getting a cab to the hostel (that I had pre-booked, so I knew where I was going for a change); as soon as I set out for my little hike late at night another snow storm broke loose and I had trouble making my way forward instead of being blown into the verge.

Funny how in the States a city appears to be TOTALLY deserted by not even 11 pm...Don't know who was looking after me again that night. I "posted" my "order" to get to the hostel safely when I had already left the bus terminal, and there was no phone to be seen anywhere, so no chance to call a cab; But whoever was listening delivered prombly in a rather unexpected manner: As soon as I reached a busier road, a bus rolled past me, stopped, backed up and opened the doors. UNREAL! The last bus that night as the bus driver told me!

When I finally reached the hostel a similar thing happened. The moment I was going to push the door open the hostel manager was turning his key to lock up for the night. Lucky again!! He probably thought I was mad (or very very poor), so he gave me sort of a special treatment even though he was more than ready to go to bed instantly; then he tried to work out for hours why I was carrying a German passport, and the following 3 days he didn't stop talking about the crazy Aussie girl with a German passport that was too stingy to get a f....taxi downtown (for some reason he didn't want to believe that I was German and thought I'd more likely be Scottish with an Aussie accent if anything ). After that stay I did start thinking myself that I might be a little impaired:-)

Santa Fe turned out to be quite picturesque and the weather showed its best side. Dry and sunny, though freezing cold. The sky was almost as blue as how we know it in good old Freo.

The buildings are mostly built in the typical adobe style and the narrow idyllic tree lined streets are full of artists and alternative hippy type folks. I strolled around for the whole day only to constantly discover another lovely corner, garden, cafe or restaurant. It's almost as cool as Freo!! I instandly felt at home.

The next day I got picked up (about 1.5 hours later than we'd arranged, seems that's the thing here, almost like Asia) by a lovely young girl to get transferred to Galisteo where our workshop was going to take place. There I had the incredible pleasure to meet Chris Griscome and spend four days in her workshop (anyone heard of her, read her books or even worked with her???? Incredible Woman!!! http://www.lightinstitute.com for those that are interested). Healing to an extent that I hadn't known before transformed our little souls. The experience climaxed in our walk across glowing coals (yess, WITHOUT burning my feet!). NO ONE can tell me anymore that we are NOT Masters of our Fate!!! If we weren't, WHERE THE HECK should have come all these lovely little miracles from????




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

House in GalisteoHouse in Galisteo
House in Galisteo

This felt like the end of the world (a lot more than Ushuaia at least)


Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 15; qc: 96; dbt: 0.0993s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb