Friday Night


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Mexico » Santa Fe
October 25th 2008
Published: October 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Imagine my delight when the morning after I finished my canvassing in Colorado Springs that I woke up and checked one of my regular websites, www.270towin.com, and saw that Colorado is now listed as a firmly BLUE state. Thursday it was a swing state, Friday it is predicted to go blue. Amazing coincidence?! I think NOT!!

Today we, my host Jenny and her daughter plus friend, spent the morning on Pike's Peak (I got altitude sickness and had to go inside and drink hot chocolate) and at Garden of the Gods. Colorado is filled with beauty at every turn.

As I traveled south to Santa Fe in the late afternoon, my heart was full as I recalled five days ago traveling north, not knowing what would happen in the next five days. Not only did I get the chance to do some campaign work, but I gained a family. When I think of the powers that brought me here, I am filled with joy.

During the last week, not only was I part of Campaign Obama, but I have sat on my bed with Elizabeth (age 10) playing dueling laptops; I've checked out cute guys on the Internet with Katie (age 14); I've watched a tv movie with Elizabeth while Snickers the dog slept between us, all of us under the same comforter; I've had early morning coffee and late-night hot chocolate with Jenny; I've corrected Katie's Spanish homework. In other words, I've been a full member of their family -- completely welcomed in every way.

Each morning the two girls found me in their kitchen, a stranger in their house, turned to me and smiled broadly. I never expected two young girls to be happy to see me each morning, and sad to see me go on Friday afternoon.

I'm sitting in Santa Fe alone in my hotel room as I write this, my last blog for the trip (unless something REALLY exciting happens tomorrow). Thanks for reading!

Love,
W.

Advertisement



25th October 2008

Miss you in Austin
Wow. That is all I can say. What an amazing experience it sounds. Looking forwarding to getting together when you get home. Maggie
28th October 2008

Congratulations, Wendy!
Great job! I've been working the electoral maps; Colorado going blue gives us a lot of options for winning this one. We're blue without you in this big red state. We're glad you'll be back soon.
30th October 2008

Blue Colorado
You're right!! Colorado has gone blue!! I think it's all due to your energetic efforts in Colorado Springs!! Thanks for your blogs. We've lived vicariously through you. You get an A+ for volunteerism and good hearted-ism!!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb