American Adventure Conclusion


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey
July 8th 2009
Published: July 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Our vacation has finally come to a close. We woke up Tuesday morning in La Crosse, Wisconsin and thought that depending on how the day went, we might try to drive home that day. We got on the road around 7:45AM and made our first stop outside of Chicago in Naperville, Illinois around noon for deep dish pizza. We had our pizza and it was pretty good although there is nothing better than a good thin crust pizza. After lunch we set our sights for home and kept driving. After about 1060 miles we made it home at about 3:15AM Tuesday night (Wednesday morning). It was a long day considering we drove all the way from the Mississippi River straight to home but it was nice to be able to relax today and not have to drive a few hundred more miles.

Overall I think the trip was an overwhelming success. Considering there were only a few parts of the trip from 1993 that I remembered I consider myself lucky to have been able to revisit these incredible places at an age where I will actually be able to remember them. Dad and I got along really well for the entire trip and he seemed to really enjoy himself too, so it turned out to be a great experience for both of us. Although I drove cross country to Arizona only a couple years ago, this time I got to experience an entirely different part of the country. I think you can gain a new appreciation for the land they live in by driving through it. Even though it may be boring and monotonous to view the same landscape for hundreds and hundreds of miles, it allows you to fathom how enormous our country is and how diverse it is. It seems as though each state and each region of the US are entirely unique from each other and you really can't understand what it's like there until you actually see it for yourself. I love New Jersey and I enjoy living here but it is amazing at how beautiful other parts of the country are. I consider myself lucky to have been able to experience it not just once, but multiple times, and even more so this time because I got to share it with my father and I hope that someday should I have a family I will be able to pass my experiences along to them like my dad has done for me.

Hope you've enjoyed my photos and little thoughts I've shared with you. Until my next great adventure, that is all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb