Six weeks to Mount Whitney!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey
February 21st 2007
Published: February 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

NJ to Mt. Whitney

This map shows my starting point (Pompton Lakes, NJ) and end point (Mount Whitney, CA) If you look close, you can see my car!

Mont Blanc 2006Mont Blanc 2006Mont Blanc 2006

On a glacier en route to Mont Blanc
Visited US States Map


This is where the count stands as of now...36 states visited, 14 to go! a result from growing up with summer road trips. I know that with many people it made them despise being in a car for extended periods of time, but I guess I turned out to be among the crowd who got the travel bug 😊

A few months ago, I was reading Backpacker Magazine and found out about the 2007 "Summit for Someone" Challenge. The goal is this...raise $3500 for Big City Mountaineers, and in return you get the opportunity to climb one of the largest mountains in the Lower 48 states and get three thousand dollars worth of climbing gear. It's usually too expensive to get a guide for a climb, and it's also expensive to get the gear you need for mountaineering. When I found out about this and heard that the money raised would go to quality non-profit organization, i jumped on the opportunity.

I was going to get an early start on fundraising, but life got in the way again! I was barely home during christmas break, and since I got back I've been working on applications and homework in my free time. Well, it's crunch time. I have exactly 6 weeks until the first day of my climb and 10 days to raise the $3500! I guess I should be freaking out about this, but I have a couple of ideas to help me get out of this...but I won't make it without your help.

Please visit my donation page HERE

Any donation of any kind is greatly appreciated...THANK YOU


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb