EPILOGUE


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey » Mount Laurel
October 10th 2019
Published: October 10th 2019
Edit Blog Post

So, I've been home for 3 days and have done a lot of thinking about this Camino experience.

Because I like to wrap things up with a bow, I thought that writing an epilogue would make sense. So, here we go:

1. First, the data: in total we walked 200.4 miles. This includes 37.4 of what I call "flip-flop miles." Every day at the end of the day, we'd take off our hiking shoes and put on flip-flops. These were our walking-around shoes when we weren't actually hiking. We used our flip-flops for exploring Porto, Valenca, Pontevedra and Santiago. We used them to run errands when we arrived in a new place every day. My flip-flops were new at the beginning of the trip, but they were well worn by the end. Even so, it surprised me that we accumulated almost 40 walking around miles!

2. On the flight home, I became acutely aware of two things: 1) the "monkey brain" thought activity that occupies my mind every day had dissipated and I had a real sense of distance and clarity. I was able to see some solutions to questions or issues I had taken with me into the Camino. 2) I felt physically strong, and more importantly, integrated. Similar to the way I usually feel after a good yoga class, the sense of physical centering was palpable. I had a very strong desire to hold onto both of these things and recommitted to daily meditation and maintaining my fitness level.

3. As with previous Camino walks, I'm reminded of what a blessing it is to travel for almost 3 weeks with everything you need on your back. Just 17 pounds of stuff. Interestingly, I had a dream the night after I returned and in the dream I was walking into an albergue with only a pair of shorts, shirt and shoes. No pack of any sort. I didn't even have any money, but the albergue took me in. Just a reminder of what simplicity really looks like.

4. I brought home the worksheet of Camino self-assessment questions provided by Pilgrim House and after I've had a couple more weeks to let the experience percolate, I'm going to do that exercise. A reminder that the Camino doesn't stop in Santiago de Compostela.

Buen Camino, whenever and wherever your personal Camino leads you!

Pat

Advertisement



Tot: 0.305s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb